Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My machine/grinder combo

Gday everyone.

Noob here just losing my Coffee Snobs post virginity.

Ive been interested in good coffee since i borrowed an espresso machine about a year ago. Its still the one i use now (havent asked for it back yet!!)

Looking around here its a pretty poor comparison, but im using a Breville Cafe Roma and anything i can find to grind my own beans.
    I had a magic bullet that i was using to grind, but that broke. Im in the market for a new grinder because my mortar and pestle takes too long

Unfortunately being a uni student i cant just go out and spend up big on awesome coffee gear. However I believe that if ive been pulling average shots on this machine, and grinding my own beans its better than nothing.

Cheers,

K

ps. my name is simply my favourite coffee (cant believe noone had it!!)

Re: My machine/grinder combo

Gday PiccoloLatte and welcome to CoffeeSnobs.
    Dont worry about what sort of gear youre using, were only snobby about the end result, not how you achieve it  .
    What sort of budget do you have for a grinder?
    You can get a grinder that will do the job for around $100. You then go onwards and upwards in dollar value and quality.
    The grinder you were using prior to it breaking is in the blade grinder variety. These arent suited to espresso machines as it is very difficult to get a repeatable grind size with these things.
    Let us know how much $$$ you have to play with, and someone here will certainly help you to spend it  ;D.
    All the best.

Comment

Welcome aboard Piccolo, I am sure you will enjoy the forum and fellow coffee snobs. Doesnt really matter what gear you have as long as you enjoy it. I am partial to the occassional Piccolo Latte myself.
      So do you have some dream machines in mind at this stage?

Brett

Comment

Welcome PL.

Dont you know anyone else that could lend you a grinder?

Comment

Or get a good grinder secondhand.