Nemox Napoletana

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nemox Napoletana

I was wondering what your thoughts are on the Nemox Napoletana?
    Is the SS boiler a problem? The smaller group set a hinderence? Are the a non pressure PF?
    Do they compare at to the Silvia?
    I have a Breville at the moment and a SUnbeam burr grinder. A friend has one of these and looking at parting with it. I realise that I will have another burr grinder (Lux) in the Nemox machine.
    Looking at Alan Fews site and he talks about the Opera with a Brass boiler, but not the SS version.
    Look forward to your thoughts
    Regards
    Andrew

Re: Nemox Napoletana

Hi Andrew,

My understanding is theyre pretty similar to the Nemox Dell Opera / Quaha / Imat Napoletana / Mokita Combi except they use a 53mm portafilter rather than 57mm. Didnt realise they werent brass internally. Im no expert but I believe brass is better than stainless steel for heat stability. Also brass group + stainless boiler could potentially lead to issues with the different expansion rates.

I would say the Silvia would be in a class above the Nemox Napoletana, and marginally above the Nemox Dell Opera. Everything Alan has to say about the Quaha Napoletana applies similarly to the Nemox Dell Opera.

Ultimately it depends what youre after. Ive had my machine for 4 years and while its not in Silvia or HX territory its sufficient for what I need. Many others would recommend upgrading to a Silvia or HX machine, but its actually fine for what I need. If youre not a big espresso drinker, you just want nice tasting freshly ground coffee for yourself and one or two others and you dont have upwards of $500 to spend, then Im sure itll be a big improvement on the Breville. Whatever advice others may give, remember its what youre going to use it for that matters, not whether it can compete with a $2000 machine.

Greg

Comment

Very well said Greg, I agree a 100%.
      BTW Ill be ordering my tamper soon!

Cheers