Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gaggia Classic begginer - extraction problems

Ola everyone

As you can see by the number of my posts Im a total newbie here. I already posted my question on the Home-barista site, but I got very little replies, which is probably because 90% of people there use better machines than the Classic. I know theres a rule on HB which says to not cross-post on other forums, but since I got almost no response, I thought it wouldnt be bad to post here So if anyone from HB is reading this, try to understand a frustrated newb

First of all Id like to introduce myself: my name is Tom, Im from Poland and recently I bought a Gaggia Classic and MDF combo. I know its not amazing, but its the most affordable and pretty good machine here in Poland. I had a small problem with it the day it arrived cause it turned out to have a huge leak inside (the pipe which was going from the pump, was disconnected and the machine pumped water into the inside, onto the cables, boiler and everything else). Fortunatelly it was easy to repair and while doing that I also modded my OPV, to give around 100ml in 30s with the blank basket. After everything was set, I screwed the cover back on and made my first espresso shot ever...

Just to make things clear, I have never tasted good espresso. Sure Ive tasted "espresso" or "expresso" before, or smth which you end up with after 15s of extraction, with no crema and/or taste. So I wasnt even sure what to aim for After a lot of shots down the sink I got smth like this (double basket):

- crema which is created with a Guiness effect and is around 1,5cm thick, but disappears really fast (it might be the coffee beans though as Im using some Saeco beans for testing, which smell like fish and are probably old):

and a side shot:

and heres how the coffee cake looks like after the shot:

I also did a couple of shots of the pour: