Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Good coffee at home on a uni budget

Hi there everyone.

As a light background Ive been making espresso coffee for about a year now occasionally at work, its a decent size commercial machine with 2 groups, but only 1 gets used. The beans are usually pre-ground and quite often not that good. However Ive developed quite a taste for coffee over this period and wish to make some decent coffee at home.

Im moving into a larger living space where I will be able to keep a small amount of coffee-making equipment, but alas, I am a poor uni student so Im on a tightish budget. One big positive though is i dont drink milk in coffee.

So, I am looking for possibly a grinder of some sort, and either a plunger (whats the general consensus on these?) or a cheapish machine. Id say $500 would be pushing my budget as far as it can go (at the present time anyway).

I have read through quite a bit of the forums but am a bit lost in some of the lingo so if you use any, please explain it

Cheers,
    Adam

Re: Good coffee at home on a uni budget

Hi Adam,

I would hazard a guess that the best value setup in your case (ie. milk frothing not required) would be a Presso and an Iberital Challenge grinder. Check with the site sponsors, but Im guessing the bundle would come just under 500 dollars.

IMO, it would be fairly difficult to obtain a good machine & grinder combination under 500, some would even say it would be difficult to obtain a decent grinder & french press (plunger) for under 500! But that decision falls to you

Aaron

Comment

Adam,

High and welcome to CoffeeSnobs....

As you have suggested above, fresh beans which are freshly ground produces by far the best coffee.

The most important thing is to get yourself a good grinder...... and that of course depends on the dollars you want to spend.