High Pressure Pump

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• High Pressure Pump

Here is a pump that I have found that may well suit home use. This would replace my faulty Procon.
    http://www.flojet.com/products/beverage/triplex_series_high_pressure_pump_3000_series/iid_123/index.htm
    It is available in 240Vac and supplies up to 7.6L/min and up to 10.3 bar. Still waiting on a price but should be around the $300 mark.

I would appreciate any comments please.

Re: High Pressure Pump

Im no expert but am wondering if 10.3 bar maximum will be enough to deliver 9 bar at the group.

Comment

It looks good. The spec sheet mentions espresso brewing. The thing I was looking for is a flow rate vs pressure diagram. You want a reasonable flow at brewing pressure. You may also need to control or regulate the pressure using either a bypass valve or some form of motor control. Coffeeparts sells bypass valves that should do the trick. Otherwise use a DC motor and a variable voltage supply.

Interesting nonetheless... especially if the price is competitive.

One other option is a micro-gear pump. There is a company in the US that makes such pumps for model jet engines. Theyll happily swap the stainless steel for a teflon gear so that its suitable for water. Their latest model is a high capacity pump that should comfortably handle espresso pressures/flow rates. Price should be in the AUD$200 mark plus postage. Ive had my eye on these for a while.

Cheers,

Mark.

Comment

I know, the flow verses pressure diagram is not visible. Which brings to light another question. How much flow is required for espresso @ 9 bar? I would have thought flow to be very low considering people normaly talk about a 60ml shot in 30 odd seconds?

Any links to those micro-gear pumps Mark?

Comment

Gday Ralph,