Temperature of water without portafilter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Temperature of water without portafilter

Hey all, I bought a used espresso machine. When i run the water through it without the portafilter, it does not seem to be that hot. Only 160 degrees F (71 Celsius). What is the temperature suppose to be?

Good question! How about 198°F?

Comment

Are you in the States?

Comment

PM me - I'm a technician. We'll sort it out.

Comment

PM's already? What happened to the community assistance that the forum is designed to offer.....

OP, what machine do you have? If we can know this then we can know what system it uses to heat the water. It will make it easier for us to diagnose possible causes and provide solutions.

Comment

Its an old machine. I can't find much information on it. But its a Coffee Gaggia. Most people compare it to the Classic. The first trial was not too bad. The initial taste of the espresso was good. I know if I get some fresher beans, then it would be even better. But, as the espresso cooled it became very sour. Undrinkable sour. I thought it was very strange since it taste pretty good to bring with.

Comment

Originally posted by sprezzatura View Post
              Are you in the States?
              Yeah, I'm in the states. Well, kind of. I live in Hawaii.

Comment

Hi Kmcogar, greetings from Oz and welcome to CS!

It would help if you posted your question in the same thread you started about the machine you bought.

http://coffeesnobs.com.au/brewing-eq...tml#post543349

By having all the info in one thread it helps those who can help you and it keeps things in a logical and tidy state.......

Comment

So to follow up on your question.... chuck it out.

Your post re the machine you bought is pretty self explanatory; i.e. you get what you pay for! ;-D

Comment