tamper advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• tamper advice

Hi folks, I'm just after a bit of advice. Sorry if this has been covered before.

I want to get a better-than-stock basket for my VBM domobar jr, thinking of going with VST. I need a matching tamper (currently using the one from my old EM6910, which is honestly useless), and would like to go with a Pullman.

Question is - should I get a custom matched Pullman big step, which, from what I can tell, will mean the tamper won't work with any other basket, or is the standard pullman barista tamper good enough?

I ask this because I don't want to end up with an expensive tamper I can't use if I happen to dislike the VST (I know they can be tricky and a bit love/hate).

Thanks in advance.
    Will

Well, I have a VBM Domobar Jr and I use a VST filter. I also have a standard Pullman tamper with a jarrah handle. These I have been using for about five years and I have had no problems whatsoever. The Pullman fits perfectly and feels great in the hand.

I hope this helps.

Comment

The other option is the Barista Hustle tamper. It's around $70 and will work beautifully with VST baskets.

Comment

A standard size tamper will be fine, I've been using a standard 58 mm tamper for many years, not a perfect fit, but it really doesn't need to be, as long as its close you will be fine.

Some perfectionists go down the matched tamper/basket road, I have never seen any great benefit.

Comment

Originally posted by Yelta View Post
          A standard size tamper will be fine, I've been using a standard 58 mm tamper for many years, not a perfect fit, but it really doesn't need to be, as long as its close you will be fine.

Some perfectionists go down the matched tamper/basket road, I have never seen any great benefit.