Ideas for building a knock drawer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ideas for building a knock drawer

I’ve been using this cabinet as my coffee station for a couple of years. I’ve been thinking of. Inverting one of the top drawers to a knock drawer to do away with the knock tube on the bench (more space for gear then). Just wondered if anyone has done something like this or has suggestions for how? I guess the fact that the drawer is wood I would need to think about how moisture from the steaming puck might be an issue. I’d also need to reinforce the drawer somehow so that I don’t just smash the bottom of the drawer into pieces.
    Attached Files

I think your concern about the moisture is well founded. If it's in a drawer, there's going to be the potential for mould formation.

Using a bench top knock box, the moisture can readily evaporate and the grounds are usually dry after a few hours. I probably wouldn't do the in drawer option unless you could commit to emptying it every day.

Comment

Could you recess a knock box into the top of the bench?

​​
      Ive not personally done it but I've seen it in some commercial settings, jug rinser on L knock box on R of machine.

Cheers

Comment

If you're closing the drawer with the coffee pucks inside, I'd bet that they are gonna get furry real quick. Ours only take a day or 2 in the small compost caddy to get that way.

Comment

Originally posted by crazyhakins View Post