Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New HX machine - boiler pressure too high?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New HX machine - boiler pressure too high?

Gday all
    I mentioned in my other thread about choosing a machine that I ended up going for an Isomac Mondiale. The local retailer said theyd calibrate it for me but made a comment that there was only limited adjustment that could be made on these machines.

Anyway the guage for brew pressure went to 10 bar with almost no flow (ground too fine on that shot), otherwise sits around 9.5 bar. my research on the forum suggests that the machines guage will often read about 1 bar high, so until I get it properly measured, is it likely that its ok?

I think the coffee tastes a bit thin and burnt though, although it might take more than a couple of days to get the hang of the new machine (used to use a sunbeam 6910).
    Im new to the world of cooling flushes, and I think I may not have been flushing long enough. I worked out just now that after sitting idle for about an hour, it takes about 20-25 seconds before it stops fizzing and spitting, but I was only running about 5 seconds or so through it. 20 seconds is a bit long though isnt it?

The boiler pressure guage sits between 1.31 and 1.5 bar (mostly sits on the lower end of that) but reading some other threads suggests it should only be about 1.1 bar? Is that correct? can/should my machine be adjusted? will that adjustment affect the brew pressure?

thanks
    Geoff

Re: New HX machine - boiler pressure too high?

Originally posted by 7955554A5F480C03693A0 link=1256380339/0#0 date=1256380339
    Gday all
    I mentioned in my other thread about choosing a machine that I ended up going for an Isomac Mondiale.  The local retailer said theyd calibrate it for me but made a comment that there was only limited adjustment that could be made on these machines.