Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need help in an upgrade From my Silvia V3 to something in the $2000-$2700 range??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help in an upgrade From my Silvia V3 to something in the $2000-$2700 range??

Gday all, Im new to Coffee Snobs and would appreciate some advice with an upgrade please. I currently own a Silvia V3/Rocky Grinder setup and after getting used to its quirks and loving it, Im suffering from a bit of espresso envy when looking at the higher end of the espresso machine market. I brew between six and eight shots a day, and when friends come around that probably doubles. I want this upgrade to be one that will keep me happy for at least a period of ten years. I dont want to plumb the machine in at this stage, but maybe the option to do so would be a good idea. Ive also seen a machine(The Exobar Brutus III) with a double boiler system which looks like the way to go? Any suggestions anyone could give would be great!

Re: Need help in an upgrade From my Silvia V3 to something in the $2000-$2700 range??

Hi natecap and welcome.

The Brutus is known as the Minore III in Australia. AFAIK it comes as either a tank version or plumb-in, not an all-in-one. The plumbed version would be a bit above your budget. Some of the Bezzera & Wega machines also come as optional plumbed versions, there may be others I can’t think of right now. Generally speaking the tank versions have vibration pumps and the plumbed versions have rotary pumps, which are more expensive (and more quiet).

The machines that would best suit you would probably be the Alex Duetto II or the Rocket Giotto Evoluzione. These two machines have built-in tanks or can be plumbed-in. You can change from one to the other with the flick of a switch. These machines are at the top end of the prosumer market and youre looking around the $4K mark.