Pimp My Pumper Baby...!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pimp My Pumper Baby...!

Looking at a strong reliable pro-sumer machine like a Bezzera 99. Yes I have read all the threads on this and others like the Rancilio S range.
    I want reliability, good performance. Don't care about latest trends looks etc.
    One question - What is the trip like in learning how to Tune this style machine?
    I will buy as good a cond 2nd hand as possible - expect some maintenance and rework to bring back to excellent condition - no concerns here I guess.
    However if I want to adjust pump pressure, group head temp etc. what is the difficulty rating.
    I am a mechanic and have learnt all my own round the house techo / maintenance needs - so I am adaptable/handy.

Also if I was keen to pimp it - like a PID kit etc is this possible with a HX?

Any opinions offered gratefully received ):

Thanks

If you like to play with group temp and pressure the expobar minore is one option

Group head pressure can be adjusted easily by sliding out the drip tray where you have access to the OPV all you need is a flat head screw driver, its a 30 second job

Then you have the PID for your temp

Its a double boiler and you have the option of turning off the steam boiler if only drinking short blacks,

Lots of options .......

Comment

Originally posted by EspressoAdventurer View Post
      Looking at a strong reliable pro-sumer machine like a Bezzera 99.
      One question - What is the trip like in learning how to Tune this style machine?
      Also if I was keen to pimp it - like a PID kit etc is this possible with a HX?

Any opinions offered gratefully received ):

Thanks
      Learning any machine depends on ...
      A) the specific machine
      B) your own experience & abilities

difficult to say beyond that !

I dont think a PID will bring a noticeable improvement to a well sorted HX, as the boiler temp is not the critical factor it is on a SBDU.

Comment