Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rocket Giotto Premium Plus - Troubleshooting

Hi All,
    Just upgraded to a (2nd hand/supposedly as new???) Rocket Giotto Premium Plus. It was a big jump from many years on a Gaggia Classic.
    Machine was delivered today - then excitement quickly went from 10 to 0 . I unboxed everything and read the Rocket manual. I then followed the setup instructions, filled tank, etc. I turned on the machine – pump ran for a minute or so to fill the boiler, etc. and after about 5 minutes it started spewing steam from the inside of the machine and leaked water all over the counter (also tripped the house power breaker). Almost seemed like it blew a gasket or pipe or something. AAAAAARGGGG!!!! As I am VERY new to this I don't even know where to start troubleshooting.
    Do you have any thoughts on this? Any help would be greatly appreciated! (BTW I'm in Melbs)

Cheers, Daniel

Considering you don't know where to start troubleshooting. I suggest take it to a technician.

Comment

Hello Daniel.

Your machine will require the skills of a technician to rectify this.

We can look over it for you if you wish.

If the person who sold you the machine sold it in "good order" you may want to discuss the issue of who's paying.

Sadly, there's always risk in purchasing 2nd hand and/or sight unseen.

Chris

Comment

What happened to the seller? There could be numerous things wrong if water is coming out of the vacuum breaker. I assume from your description that the pump does actually stop pumping after a minute...if it continues pumping right through could just be a disconnected/bad connection of the water level probe causing overfilling of the boiler. One general problem with second hand machines is scale build up and that also could be causing the vacuum breaker not to close. Anyway, not enough information to diagnose.

Comment