Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Giotto Rocket (2009) - thinks it is out of water but it's not

Hi fellow coffee lovers,

I am new to this forum so I hope I am not asking something too obvious. I've done a fair bit of searching and tried a few things but haven't managed to crack this case.

Machine:
    Giotto Rocket Premium - 2009 model
    Tank model - not plumbed

Issue:
    1. When I turn my machine on from a cold start, it fills the boiler fine then begins to heat up. So far so good.
    2. After it has heated up it flashes the "low water" light and turns off the pump. Sometimes this happens during heat up and sometimes during the first brew.
    3. I've found that when I remove the water reservoir (half full) the light stops flashing and the machine heats up. When I put the reservoir back (half full) the light starts flashing again.

Other relevant information:
    • I've been using the machine without a hiccup for the last 2 years using the same water supply. I'm using tank water. I've tried using filtered and non-filtered rain water.
    • Every function on the machine appears to be working fine other than the low water sensor. i.e. if I earth the low water sensor the machine brews and steams like a dream.

What I've done so far:
    • When I earth the white "low water" cable the light stops flashing. This seems to indicate that the low water cable is fine and the controller box is functioning as expected. I've brewed a few coffees with this cable earthed (making sure there was plenty of water in the reservoir and it was feeding through to the boiler) and it seemed to operate without any problems.
    • I've checked the connectivity of the low water cable (white one) with the controller box. I read around 2-3ohms resistivity when measuring the probe on the side of the white reservoir cup to the connector on the controller box.