Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rocket Evo V2 or ECM Technika Profi ?

Hi all,
    Total newbie here. I need a proper coffee machine! I'm now a stay at home mum and don't get out for coffee like I used to. Our fully automatic DeLonghi thing isn't cutting it (it never did, was a wedding gift).

I really don't want to get technical with the machine, just want to be able to use it and make consistent cups of great coffee. From the couple of hours of reading I've done I'm down to 2 machines. We drink flat whites, would make anywhere between 20 - 35 cups a week, bench space isn't an issue and have a $5k budget for the whole setup (machine, grinder, accessories).

Which would you choose? The Evo or ECM?

Thanks
    Leanne

Hi Leanne and welcome to CS!

My choice........ the Rocket partnered with a Macap M4D grinder.

Comment

I own a Technika and love it. I'm also a little crazy, bought a Scace thermofilter and have seen just how stable the temps are out of the group. If you go the Technika make sure that whoever sells it to you sets it up with the pstat setting which gets you your preferred brew temp. Temperatures are so stable that you can't temp surf much like you can with other HX machines. This is great if your main concern is consistency. If you want to be able to work out a flush routine that allows you to produce varying brew temps then the Technika is not the machine for you.

Comment

Hello Larny and welcome.

To be honest, it's probably going to come down to looks as to which brand you end up with on the bench. It's not as if one is going to make better or worse coffee as that will be about you, your grinder and your coffee.

Your budget will allow for the Macap M4D grinder and like chokkidog, I class it as the aspirational grinder for home users. It's simply brilliant.