wisdom of starting at the pointy end?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wisdom of starting at the pointy end?

Greetings all, By way of intro, I'm a complete coffee novice presently enjoying (tolerating?) an Instant each morning before work or a plunger when camping, but I do like a good flat white. The only espresso machine I've had a go at was my sisters' Breville that I clumsily tried when we visited her in China recently, and that's what sparked my interest because she makes a pretty good coffee with her Breville.

I've researched a bit the last few weeks and am now thinking of buying a quality machine and grinder straight up because if I do this, I don't want to be replacing it or upgrading a few years down the track. We live in a small inland Qld town a long way from purveyors of coffee machines and consumables. However we do drive to Brisbane once or twice a year so would prefer to buy there; firstly, so I can have a look in store, and secondly, I could take a machine back to Brisbane myself if/when necessary rather than packing it off to Sydney or wherever.

So my short list is:
    • Bezzera Domus Galatea, or Rocket Giotto (I prefer milk based coffee)
    • Macap M4D doserless grinder or equivalent
    • Basic accessories to get started: tamper, milk jug, machine cleaning stuff, etc
    • and... coffee beans!

My priorities are:
    • machine reliability and longevity, given my location
    • Potential to produce a good coffee once I learn the skills. i.e., I don't want the machine to be a limiting factor. A forgiving machine might be handy though.
    • aesthetics: given how big they are they have to look good (I like the styling of the Galatea)
    • Budget: these are right at the top of my budget. I know there's cheaper out there but I'd prefer to get good equipment in the first place, to be future-proof.