Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help required - first machine / grinder set up

Hello,

I'm a newbie here and I would like some help in purchasing a machine/grinder set up.
    Ive been "lurking" on this forum for a while and am starting to recognise the names on here!
    I have been "researching" my new coffee machine for months and it's time to make a purchase before Christmas.
    While I do like the shiny, modern stainless look I have to admit I do also like the retro box shape, for example the Bezzera BZ 99s. I have read they have a reputation for being bullet proof.
    Quality of finish is important i.e. no rough edges. New or second hand is fine.
    I'm the only coffee drinker in a house of five and my preference is espresso or long blacks. Three to four a day. I am willing and wanting to experiment with other types of drinks therefore I want the ability to steam milk.
    I have eliminated single boilers as a choice so it's either a HX or double boiler for me and I do understand the importance of a "decent" grinder.
    My budget is around $2500. $3000 at a stretch. This would include machine, grinder, quality tamper and all the barista accessories to get started. Quality cups are also needed. My local coffee shop uses Acme cups and I like the weight of them and the colour choices. Of course I am open to suggestions on other brands.
    I am also interested in opinions on a second hand 2011 Rocket Giotto Premium Plus (bought from a site sponsor) that is available online. I have read there are issues with a relay and the control board. For peace of mind, if purchased I would take it to a site sponsor for a check and service. This cost would also be factored into a possible purchase price.

Thanks, Mark (CaffeinatedRunner)

Welcome