Advice needed: replacing my now twice-faulty BES920

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice needed: replacing my now twice-faulty BES920

So, I'm a bit fed up with my current machine, and want to move into the pointy end. I've had the 920 for 4.5 years now, and it has needed repairs twice; the second time is right now. I believe it's the solenoid (again). Took great care of it, two coffees a day, and did all the right things; got a lemon I guess.

Symptoms are basically that once starting a cycle, the pre-infusion happens for the usual 7 odd seconds, but then a noisier "pump" doesn't kick in. I've worked out that if I fully flush the boilers (via the descale port), it comes good again for 10 or so shots. Will be trying my luck and having a go at Breville for a repair, and then moving on from it.

My summary: I'm no barista, but know my good vs bad taste, and I'm an engineer, so not afraid of a process of getting the right coffee based on grind, etc. I'm in Victoria.

Anyway, looking at an Italian machine, something along the lines of a Magister. Brewing house down the road wants $2,100 for the Magister Stella Pro. They say "parts only" warranty though, and the short answers have me cautious. The other warning light is that I basically can't seem to find this brand sold anywhere in Australia (at least Vic)... odd.

Based on what I can tell, I'd want an E61, no fancy electronics (another bad point for the 920), so easier/cheaper to service/repair, and stainless steel is always sexy. Budget up to around the $2k mark. I think I've read here to perhaps avoid the Quickmill stuff?

I've never descaled (that warning on the 920 conveniently popped up each time for repair), and I think I'd need to filter the water as well to potentially avoid scaling issues?

So... yeah. Any help appreciated, as I'm pretty sure I only have a week or so left with this damned 920.

I was in your position a few weeks ago and went through Expobar Office Leva.