Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grinder for em6910 - around $300 budget

I am a newbie so treat me gently. :-*

Ive read many of the posts here and the more I read the more confused I get.

My choices seem to be ...

sunbeam em480 ($170)
    gaggia mdf (Ive seen specials for $299)
    Iberital Challenge ($299)
    lux ($299)

No I dont want the rocky - its over budget!

So given my budget is around $300 and I own an em6910 and I like the idea of a conical burr machine, what do people recommend? Longevity? Quality? etc etc

Re: Grinder for em6910 - around $300 budget

Id go the Iberital purely for its stepless adjustment....I have no knowledge or experience on this grinder though.

I own a La Cimbali Cadet which is a commercial machine with I think 64mm flat burrs that I have paired with my EM6910. Selling it to make room for a Mazzer Mini, but just as happy to keep it.

I have owned a Sunbeam EM0480 grinder and it is noisy, grind is too fluffy and above all, the grind settings are too wide from each other.

Comment

Hi barri and welcome to the world of CS!

Id suggest the challenge- but only if youre using it for espresso only. If you want to change between plunge and espresso grind, youll get RSI.

Have a look at http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1163235531 if you havent already done so for some info/reviews....

Of course, we need not say that the grinder will only do its best work with top quality FRESHLY roasted beans, and youre very unlikely to find them in a stoopidmarket!

2mcm

Comment

Hi there,