Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Manual Grinder

Gday folks,

Newbie here...  I have had a look around the topic and cannot find any information on manual grinders...

I go bush regularly, and want to have a manual grinder to cover my bases when out in the boonies. (no power and a Presso)

I would like a good one, and really do not have any idea on what I am looking for.  Ideally I will need an espresso grind.

Any advice or more to the point, any pitfalls to look out for would be truly appreciated!!  (be kind to me, and please treat me like an idiot as I really want to learn about this)

Thanks in advance!!

Bob

Re: Manual Grinder

Hi and welcome Rasta

The best manual grinders are the German made
    Zassenhaus Coffee Grinders
    Cost is about $140 but well worth it as they will last for decades

KK

Comment

hi rastas

the turkish grinders are quite good
      being cylindrical they also pack well

graham

Comment

I has a look at the Zassenhaus on line. Methinks a trip to Mr Coffee is in order...

I had not heard of the turkish grinder.. Time for more research!! Thanks for the responses so far..

Bob

Comment

Hi Rastas,

I just ran my morning beans past my Zass grinder (43 year old) for a Syphon Brew rather than adjusting my big electric one. It took about 2 minutes to do the grind on 20g of beans so done well before the kettle boiled The grind quality and consistancy is possibly better than my old Ibiteral electric grinder

The turkish grinder might be a better option than the zass for the presso as I believe they can grind finer also a good weapon to throw at a wild marauding possum

If you have a bit more of a look around you will find some plastic/ceramic grinders but they seem to have a problem with broken bits in hiking kits.

Comment

Some of the better Turkish mills are fitted with
            Zassenhaus hardened chrome steel cutting burs

Ask on the quality of the burs

http://www.sweetmarias.com/prod.zas.shtml