• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Grinder - Isomac Granmicinino V Rocky Rancilio

Hi Folks,
    This is my first post so be gentle ;D
    Im definitely a beer snob and Im trying hard to become a coffee snob :P
    Im looking at purchasing my first grinder. High on my list, and within my budget, are the Isomac Granmicinino and Rocky Rancilio. Both seem very similar but the Rocky appears much more popular. Is there a reason? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
    ps Im after a doserless. And Im a tech-head so I love fiddly and fine tuning

Cheers
    Brewman

Re: First Grinder - Isomac Granmicinino V Rocky Rancilio

Personally I prefer the Granmacinino based on the 48mm conical burrset, and the fact that theyre both stepped anyway.

however, Id go for the cheaper, holdwithonehandandgrindwiththeother, Ascaso i-Mini. not quiet, not refined, but it punches far above its weight, and is stepless and doserless.

Comment

Originally posted by 2A07060D170A171A630 link=1250319221/1#1 date=1250356423
      Personally I prefer the Granmacinino based on the 48mm conical burrset, and the fact that theyre both stepped anyway.

however, Id go for the cheaper, holdwithonehandandgrindwiththeother, Ascaso i-Mini. not quiet, not refined, but it punches far above its weight, and is stepless and doserless.
      Yes and no....Most small conicals use the tre spade burr set and the upper burr is typically plastic mounted. This puts them in a class well below the Rocky- the appliance class.

Comment

Hi 2MCM,
        You wrote
        Yes and no....Most small conicals use the tre spade burr set and the upper burr is typically plastic mounted. This puts them in a class well below the Rocky- the appliance class.
        Whichever class,
        what are the preformance issues?
        Would you have any comments along these lines?
        Consistancy of grind?
        ease of emptying grind path between grinds?
        grind quality (as relates to the cup)?
        Mess?