Just got the BCG800, have some grind/tamping questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just got the BCG800, have some grind/tamping questions

As per advice from the forum, Ive bought a better grinder than I initially anticipated and gotten the Smart Grinder.

Im having some issues getting it all dialed in and it seems to revolve around my tamping style.

Im currently working with a cheapie loaner Sunbeam, an older EM3800.

Until now Ive mostly been buying pre-ground beans from a coffee guy in Brisbane who runs a roastery/cafe.

Prior to the BCG800 I would fill the portafilter, tamping hard and evenly until I had a smooth level surface. Provided the portafilter was full and the tamp hard I would get a few seconds of a darker, thicker pull before the massive crema came in - Im assuming from the pressurised portafilter.

No problems, decent-ish coffee.

Enter the BCG800.

Im a designer by trade, but Im a data-centric one. So whether Im optimising a shopping cart or figuring out my new grinder I try to change only one variable at a time. Measure and adjust.

So Im filling the portafilter to the same volume and tamping the same way as with the pre-ground beans (although the beans themselves are different, thats a variable I cant control).

- I start with the coarsest espresso grind: bitter water
    - Up a couple of notches: bitter water
    - Up a few more: more like coffee, but still watery and bitter
    - Finest it will go: almost the same as what Im used to with pre-ground beans, but still not as thick as Id like

My wifes been talking with the aforementioned coffee guy in Brisvegas and he certainly pulls a mean brew, so he should know what hes talking about. The wife says that he recommends knocking the portafilter after dosing and then a polish only - no hard tamping.

Ive read the threads on here about to knock or not to knock and also on the value of polishing - but I havent come across one yet that has recommended no hard tamping at all.