So whats wrong with the Gaggia MDF?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So whats wrong with the Gaggia MDF?

Hi everyone, first post here, though I have been spending a few happy hours browsing through the site. Many things have become clearer, though some still remain murky...

Before getting to my question, here is my background. I have been using a french press for home use for many years. I thought I had reached the pinnacle of sophistication years ago when I gave up on shop bought ground coffee and began to grind beans as I needed them - with a blade grinder. My research has now shown me that this is all wrong, and the blade grinder is worse than useless. Unfortunately I can appreciate that my press coffee tastes, well, like mud, to be frank. This feeling has been confirmed by the purchase of an aeropress, which even with the blade chopper produces results far superior to the press. So I have resolved to start the journey to home coffee nirvana, whatever it takes  I hope to dump the press and move on to expresso, but I need to take it in steps.

I have read a lot about grinders here, and appreciate that that is where I need to start. But which to pick? Opinions here seem to be as clumpy as the results from my blade chopper.