Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Rancilio Rocky - does it grind fine enough??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rancilio Rocky - does it grind fine enough??

I have been using the Silvia + Rocky combo for about 6 months now.

Generally happy with the result, but I was wondering what other users think about the Rockys ability to produce fine grinds.

It seems that to get an extraction time of about 20-25 seconds for 60mL of espresso using a double basket, I need to leave my Rocky at its true zero point which is at +2 (the burrs just touch at +1 with no beans inside).

If I dont tamp the coffee down hard enough or under-dose the coffee by a tiny bit, the shot just pours out in 15 seconds. I now pack the coffee so that there is a bit of tightness when I squeeze in the portafilter into the Silvia to 90 degrees.

To me, the problem is that this means that there is no wiggle room. I think normally a decent grinder should be able to grind fine enough so there are several grades of fine-ness (reserved for Turkish coffee for example) beyond the setting that gives you the traditional 30mL single shot or 60mL double shot in 20-25 seconds.

The Lelit PL043 grinder which Ive recently played with seems to only require a mid-setting to produce the correctly sized grind. In fact at one of the finer settings (not even the finest), the coffee was coming out drop by drop. Having seen this, Im tempted to sell the Rocky and get the PL043 which is cheaper (about AU$450 for the Rocky and $350 for the Lelit).

Any ideas on what Im doing wrong with my Rocky so I feel like the grinds arent fine enough, at its finest setting?

Thanks in advance.

Re: Rancilio Rocky - does it grind fine enough??

Does it grind fine enough?