Elektra Nino

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Elektra Nino

Ive been using the Elektra Nino for about 8 months now and once I got a handle on the different settings required for the different type of beans I roast, I have found it extremely efficient and accurate. I am very pleased with it. What Id like to know, however, is how best to clean it? I seem to use it and it functions perfectly, but I am a little concerned that I am not maintaining it. There just doesnt seem to be much to do other than use the thing...! Any help would be appreciated.

Re: Elektra Nino

Hi P. I have no idea what an Electra Nino looks like but with my Macap every couple of months  I undo the top burr & carrier and give it a good brush/vacuum [top burr, bottom burr, chute etc] and reassemble. For me it is simple but I have no idea of the complexity of the Nino. Old stale grounds and oils are the enemy of great coffee.

Steve

Steve

Comment

Theres not really much need for regular cleaning on a Nino, since the design of the grind head and outlet chute means it does a good job of clearing all the ground coffee out of the grind head by itself.

If you want to, removing the top burr to clean the blades is a bit of a task, since you have to first remove the adjuster wheel and worm gear, and to remove that assembly you have to undo 6 screws and lift off the back half of the grinder body.

But cleaning the outlet chute is very easy - it is designed to remove easily by simply pulling it down and out of the grind head. Its in 2 parts, a bottom part and a top cover, which just lifts off once you pull it out of the grinder. Wipe them clean inside and out, fit back together and poke them back up into the grind head and the chute just clicks back into place.

Oh, and for future reference, when it comes time to replace the burrs, they are actually Compak K10 burrs. Knowing that might make them easier to source.

Comment