Grinder for La Pavoni Professional

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grinder for La Pavoni Professional

I am a newbie to Coffeesnobs, and hesitant at showing my ignorance, but am about to take the plunge anyway. My partner loves good espresso and shiny objects so I have bought a La Pavoni Pro for his birthday. Since we are retired, we both have the time to experiment in search of the perfect espresso. Given that we are stepping up from a very old Faema Majica and stovetop brewing, I was thinking of buying a Breville smart grinder. I realize that this is not a great grinder but I felt that, by the reviews, it would provide consistent grinds to allow us to concentrate on our machine technique. Am I being realistic, or do I need to buy a better grinder? Please help!
    Ps We would be looking at 4 to 6 coffees a day.

Re: Grinder for La Pavoni Professional

Hi jannav and welcome.

I am a bit of a lever person owning several lever machines including a pavoni europiccola. Since you sound like you are getting serious about your coffee I think a relatively serious grinder is in order. Personally I like really solid grinders like the Rocky and now the Mazzer, but I do think that the step up from the Brevilie smart grinder is the Mahlkonig Vario. Yes it cost a lot more and is a bit plasticky (like the Breville is) but I think it is worth it in the long run. That grinder paired with the Pavoni Pro should be enable you to reach coffee nirvana.

But lets see what other members think, especially those that have used both the Breville and the Vario.

Comment

The big question is, "what is your budget for the grinder?"

Under 300? theres the Breville smart grinder, which seems to be the best for that price-point, under 500? Compak K3-push.

Over $500? well, For home use a Robur is probably overkill, but thats not stopped people before.