Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advice - upgrade from Breville Smart Grinder (Rocket Giotto Plus)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice - upgrade from Breville Smart Grinder (Rocket Giotto Plus)

Hi .

been a while since I have posted here and I'm hoping to get some insight into options for a grinder upgrade.
    I'm trying to gain insight into the benefit to be gained vs outlay with a new grinder.

I find the BCG800 very convenient. I make a small change to grind each day or so to accommodate the aging of my beans and the 'smart' aspect manages the volume. It seems ok.... but not awesome. I am OCD and love my coffee as a hobby but I'm not a cupping expert .

My machine is a Rocket Giotto Premium Plus (V2 I think).

I drink 1-3 cups a day, mostly with milk and occasionally straight espresso.

Beans are roasted at a local roaster and I buy a KG/month roughly. I keep them in a sealed vacuum container and distribute a small'ish amount into the grinder every 2-3 days.

My first two questions are obviously:

1. is the Breville BCG800 limiting my coffee quality?
    2. What is a good upgrade choice?

My criteria for an upgrade would be:

1. controlled dosing so I can set it and have it automatically dose the correct amount.

2. little to no retained grinds to reduce wastage.
    3. very tidy distribution into the PF or container - again minimise wastage but also the cleanup.

4. Improved quality of taste over the BCG800

Cost is definitely a factor. I haven't set a specific budget at this point though I did choke when I saw the K8 fresh advertised at $2k :P