Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recommend me a grinder

OK,
    Another newbie and another recommendation thread, but everyone's different right ?

So I'm new to this, and I'm looking for a grinder to pair with my likely new Oscarr II (but that's a whole other thread)

Needs and Desires
    • It will only be used to grind for espresso
    • Ideally we can fill it up first thing in the morning with about 8 coffee's worth of beans
    • Not really looking at the scale based systems, but I would like a good timer.
    • Preference is doserless and low retention, but it is what it is
    • Slight preference to conical burr's, but I won't turn my nose up at flat.
    • Simple setup that my wife would use.

Current Thoughts
    While I like the Niche Zero, there's no way my wife's going to weigh beans, and similar grinders although beautiful to behold, are out of my (approved) price range.

I like the Baratza Sette's, but am leaning more towards either the Eureka Mignon Silenzio or Specialita. It look's like the specialita would suit my needs better, but I generally prefer less 'gadgety', and know it would be easier to fix or play with the silenzio if it ever came to that.

I am new to all of this, but I am trying to do things right, so come at me and let me know what i've missed, or if there's other questions I should be asking.

Thanks,
    Jeremy

As a few folks have said before you can always weigh out the beans in advance once you have dialled in your prefered dose.
    I have some lovely little jars that cost $1 each at the reject shop.
    I upgraded to a Silenzio earlier this year and I’m very happy with it.
    Very little retention, great grind and simple.
    Currently using it on a Gaggia classic.
    I like the Niche but I think I will go straight to a Lagom 64 eventually.
    I need to wait until my new Bianca arrives and drifts through the bank account.

Comment

• Jeremy80
      Jeremy80 commented
      Editing a comment