iRoast2 a real winner.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• iRoast2 a real winner.

Last week I took delivery of the iRoast2, and 15kg (yes... 15) of Green Beans, as winner of the CS Milleni Contest on this site.

Firstly, thanks again to Les at Coffee Roasters Australia (site sponsor who offered the iRoast as the prize), Andy (for offering the beans) and Java (for running the contest).

So - Yesterday I fired up the iRoast2, and now I really DO feel like a winner!

The Verdict:
    This machine is an excellent small batch roaster. I really rate the fact that you can program the whole roast, both time and tempratures. I think the biggest factor of the iRoast2 is "Repeatibility". Once youve tested out roasts you really like... you can ALWAYS do them! That is great.

Pre-iRoast2.
    I have been roasting for a couple of years at least. I started out using a popper. I have still got one in the cupboard which is now 3rd backup. I graduated to the heatgun method after a year or so, and soon after I built the "77Roast", which is a large batch, heatgun, motor stirred roaster. It will do 500g easily.

Since using the 77Roast, I was very weary of going back to a 150g batch size. I had also read about it roasting very fast sometimes and being very noisy. So, marred by these preconceptions I started out.

Before the Roast.
    Go read this. There is no way I could EVER give a more comprehensive rundown of the macine or the process. Once I read this I ignored all the other comments about the roasts being fast. Tom is truly a master roaster.
    http://www.sweetmarias.com/hearthwar...ttipsheet.html

The 1st Roast (30% Brazil, 30% Sumatran, 30% Indian Tiger Mountain)
    I used Toms programmed roast for Brazillian espresso. I did the above blend specifically because thats what Ive been drinking for a while now, and I wanted a direct comparison with the heatgun method.