Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yet another handsfree HG setup: HG/iRB

Hi,

I am new to home roasting, but inspired by the various roaster schemes presented on this site, I couldnt resist to cook up my own variant after some pondering: HG used with an inclined rotating bowl, for short HG/iRB  , see the pic.

You can find many more pics for this setup incl. roast samples #1&#2 here: http://www.johnspics.1g.fi/kuvat/Peter/BigEar/

Here is also a video (3gp format, use eg quicktime) of this scheme in action : http://www.johnspics.1g.fi/Peter/Espresso/26112006.3gp

One could think of it like a rotating DB (with flanges to agitate beans) or as a (poorly insulated) BM rotating around its stirrer axle or as a parabolic-drum roaster if you add heating from below and the outer housing.

For me cost was low, I needed only the HG (new, 25 EUR, 2 kW with Temp control&indicator, 600C, probably some rebranded Chinese OEM sold by Clas Ohlson shops) and the SS bowl (8 EUR) + sieve for cooling (9 EUR), the rest I had. All metal contraction parts are from an abandoned MECCANO metal construction kit from my son; it may be tough to get this particular set nowaways, but of course the construction can be done in 1000 other ways. The HG is hold by my daugthers note-stander and I better return it soon  ...

This setup seems to have potential: I was able to get a dark roast with 1st crack starting around 7 min and I pulled the roast after 16 min. This was outside at 8 deg C and HG setting at 80 %, 150g green beans from Peru, Oxampampa.