H G plus X

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• H G plus X

This is in the nature of a general inquiry. I have read through the posting os HG and BM and it makes sense. Being that I am new to this, I gather that the point of being crative in all this is to avoid payin the big bucks for a home roster. Im with you there.

What is you want to roast in bigger batches than a BM can handle? I see that 24 % of hg users use other than a bm combo. I am interesed in what other people are using and what the resulst are.

I am leaning toward using my large slow cooker, turing it on to high, and combing this with a HG. What do you think?

Keith

Re: H G plus X

Will you manually stir the beans yourself.

Im mechanically inclined....major in mechanical engineering (and japanese) and am planning to make a contraption similar to arcticroasters setup with a colander, motor (he uses a drill - connected via mechano wheels), gears and heat gun

Comment

You might have missed the point with the bread maker -- people arent using them to heat the beans, but just to stir them, while the heat gun does the roasting. I use a heat gun myself, but just with a stainless steel bowl to hold the beans, and a wooden spoon to stir them. Heat guns are pretty powerful, so you really need to keep those beans moving while theyre roasting to get an even roast, and for me that means a whole lot of stirring at the moment! With the bread maker, usually set on a kneading cycle or something similar that turns the little paddle at the bottom of the maker without actually heating, the stirring is taken care of for you.