Halogen roaster - BM/HF

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Halogen roaster - BM/HF

I got interested in roasting with halogen lights after reading about a machine called the Digirosto. It sounds pretty impressive but the $14,000 price tag convinced me to try a more homespun approach.
    This guy in New Zealand has successfully built a nice looking machine using halogen floodlights. http://www.dbr.co.nz/radiant.html

I wanted to make an all-in-one unit, but not being an electrician, I have stuck with plugin components. I am using quartz halogen floodlights to roast, in combination with my breadmaker. Of course, using a breadmaker for bean agitation is well documented here at CS.

I bought a couple of 500w lights from Bunnings. When they have them in stock, they are under $10 each and come with a spare bulb. After operating on them with a hacksaw and drill I now have one twin halogen housing, hinged to the top of my breadmaker. There are still two power leads, one going through an inline dimmer which makes the power variable between 0-500w or 500 -1000w when I switch on the other bulb.

With both bulbs running full bore, I hit first crack around 15 minutes with 500gr of beans (205 *C by the DMM TC). I can then ease off with the dimmer and coast into second crack at the 20 minute mark.

Initially, the breadmaker was cutting out at 150*C so I modified it by moving the heat sensors. My machine is a Breville Excel and the sensors are attached to one wall of the well by a couple of screws. Relocating them to the far side of the internals has removed the problem without messing with the wiring.

I am really happy with the roasts that I have done so far. The radiant heat roasts very evenly and the beans taste clean and full flavoured with no hint of burning or baking.