Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GENE CAFE  Advice please Life Expectancy/Prob

HI ALL

Im new to roasting ( and to this site, though Ive been reading it lots lately...) and Im considering buying a Gene Cafe Roaster, and would like advice please.

Im considering whether to buy a second hand Gene Cafe thats less than a year old and used a fair bit by an enthusiastic CSer OR to buy a new one from one of the CS Sponsors.

Ive read that most users are very happy with them and Ive read that the early ones may have had some problems...

From what I have read it seems these machines are new in production... ie? 2 1/2 years and brought into AUS for 1 1/2 years,

and I wonder:

a) what their life expectancy MIGHT be

b) whether Gene Cafe owners have had problems with them and

c) whether the latest model, has been improved by the company over the last year.

It seems a pity to spend more money that is neccesary if the used machine is working well and might continue doing so for many years. And it seems good to support a fellow CSer

I would appreciate your wisdom and experience.

Thanks all and regards
    Robert

Re: GENE CAFE  Advice please Life Expectancy/

Perhaps too awkward a question. Not want to put people on the spot

How about:

Any owners: how reliable and robust have you found the Gene Cafe to be?

Has anyone had any problems with them?

Id love to hear

Thanks

Comment

Originally posted by RobertMac link=1199617883/0#1 date=1199702513
      Perhaps too awkward a question. Not want to put people on the spot  

How about:

Any owners: how reliable and robust have you found the Gene Cafe to be?

Besides throwing it around? Reliable AND Robust. Mine lives in a plastic carry container with locking lid in which the GC lives inside covered in plastic to keep the dust off....and every weekend when I fire it up, it keeps on delivering, post 9 months.

Has anyone had any problems with them?

Short answer: No.