Roast Temp - Level - Character guide

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Roast Temp - Level - Character guide

Hi, as Im new to this roasting activity Im compiling from a variety of sources a bit of a guide to help me to learn to drive my popper roaster. There seems to be some contradictory info around so I would appreciate any suggestions or corrections etc on these tables. I hope that they can help others starting out too. thanks.

Roast Temp / Level
    Stage Probe Temp Level

First Crack 205C (401F) cinnamon
    Rolling First Crack 212C (415F) half city
    First Crack End 218C (426F) city
    223C (435F) city +
    228C (444F) full city
    Second Crack 234C (454F) full city +
    Rolling Second Crack 240C (465F) vienna - light french
    ?? italian
    245C (474F) full french
    252C (486F) spanish

Roast Style Characteristics
    Level Surface Varietal Acidity Body Aroma Sweetness

cinnamon dry peak peak medium high low
    city dry high high high high medium
    full city slight oil high high high peak medium
    vienna slight oil medium medium peak peak high
    italian shiny low low peak high peak
    full french very shiny very low very low medium medium medium
    spanish very shiny very low very low low medium low

Re: Roast Temp - Level - Character guide

I would not rely on these figures. They appear to be a little high from my experience as First Crack usually occurs before 200 degrees on the roasters I have used or observed. Some roasters will go into FC at greater than 200.

The timing and temperature of FC and SC depend very much on the roaster, thermometer (or DMM) and temperature probe. Add to this, of course, the ambient conditions and the type of bean. Then there is the coffee drinkers (ie you) preferences for the roast profile of a certain bean type