Behmor and my stupidity

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Behmor and my stupidity

I have been using this little wonderful roaster for over 2 years and the other night I did what the instructions said not to do. I left the room and then forgot about it. When the room filled of smoke I realised what I'd done. The beans were a clump of black mess and the room smelt awful. There was a horrible oily residue on everything and there was an error message on the screen. I scrubbed as best I could and did a few dry burns. The machine seemed to work OK during a dry burn. I tried a proper roast and it roasted fine except first crack took 3 minutes longer than normal and there was extra smoke at the start of the roast, then disappeared in the middle and came back at the end before cooling. The roast tasted fine. Subsequent roasts have seen an improvement in the amount of smoke and overall performance but it doesn't seem to work exactly the same as it did. The bottom line is that the coffee still tastes good.

Should I throw it out and buy a new one or persist? I'm sure this has happened to others. What is the correct recovery procedure when this happens? What's the best way to get rid of all that oily residue other than "Simple Green"?

Hi Barri, I use a KKTO so I can't help there but was going to suggest a email, not a PM to Andy. Fair chance he has had this issue arise with someone and he is always most helpful.

Steve.

Comment

Definitely email Andy.

Here's some suggestions:

Have you vacuumed the exhaust area? You can do this by taking off the right hand side and rear exhaust cover. Part of the maintenance is to get rid of the dust build up near the fans. You'll need a special screw (torx) to get access.

There's also a sensor (the 3 screws near the element, on the right hand side) that has to be regularly cleaned.

Comment