Another Drum Roaster.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another Drum Roaster.

Hello everyone, I am a thirteen year old boy and I love to roast my own coffee at home. I have been using a popcorn popper for a few months now and I have enjoyed the experience very much. I have been following your adventures for quite some time now on this forum. From your adventures and experience I have gained a huge amount of enthusiasm and inspiration. The problem is I am very low on knowledge, advice and experience but I would like to build a coffee drum roaster. I would like to have my coffee roaster obtaining features such as:
    • 1kg batch.
    • paint tin with perforated end that can handle about 1kg of beans.
    • funnel for dropping the beans.
    • sight glass and trier.
    • dump chute in the front.
    • oven fan to supply airflow through the drum.
    • cooling tray with something to stir the beans.
    • gas burners of some kind.
    • thermocouple with digital display.
    • chaff and smoke removal system.

What I am really looking for though is any knowledge or advice that could be spared. I just thought that someone could put me on the right track. This project might be a lot more than I can handle with the tools I have but I would like to give it a go anyway. Besides if anyone is going help me through this project it would be you guys because I know you have a lot more experience in this area than I do. Any advice or knowledge would be greatly appreciated.

Hi stickybeak101,

And you're how old?!!!! 8-D
    There are plenty of people who would love to be able to home build a drum roaster with all those features.
    In fact, all the features of a fully fledged commercially built unit, well, maybe with the exception of the paint tin ;-)
    There is a lot of machining and fabrication involved in a home project such as this, not to mention sourcing components.