Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does My Behmor Have a Problem?

Hey Guys,

I'm new to roasting and got a Behmor for Christmas. I've roasted off 19 batches so far but have noticed an issue with the timing recently where I get nowhere near the Rosetta Stone timings for 1C and 2C and have to keep manually adjusting. Is this normal or a problem with the machine?

I clean out all the chaff between roasts, wipe clean after every 5 batches and pre-heat for 1 min before every roast. I've included some history of my results below so you can see what I mean:

Peru Ceja de Selva - 12/1 235g 1/2 P2 A 1C 1.45min, 2C 0.30min - CS8
    Peru Ceja de Selva - 29/1 235g 1/2 P2 A 1C 0.35min then press +++ to extend, no 2C - CS8.5

India Elephant Hills - 29/12 200g 1/2 P2 A 1C 2.30min, 2C 0.23min - CS8
    India Elephant Hills - 3/2 235g 1/2 P2 A 1C 0.38min then press +++ to extend, no 2C - CS8

Do greens change over time in terms of roast time or am I doing something wrong here?

Thanks for any advice,

Mick

I clean out all the chaff between roasts, wipe clean after every 5 batches
    You're also supposed to be doing a dry burn after every 5 batches in addition to the cleaning.

Java "Clean sensors are a good thing" phile
    Toys! I must have new toys!!!

Comment

G'day Mick,

I also noticed that my Behmor roast times did vary a bit from when it was new compared to after a number of roasts.

I put it down to "running in" and times lengthening due to oils building up and components of the Behmor "burning -in". This is even after cleaning every 5 roasts with Simple Green and then doing a "dry burn".

You could try 1/2-P2-B which will have a longer roast duration or even 1/2-P2-C if you need to go longer. You will see the time vary as you press B or C. If the roast is getting away from you before the timer runs down you can always hit cool.

Comment

Thanks Guys, completely forgot about the dry burn!!