Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Home Roasting - Should I Or Shouldn't I???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Home Roasting - Should I Or Shouldn't I???

My husband has offered to buy me a coffee roaster for my birthday - I'm really, really interested in getting into home roasting and think one of Andy's Behemor's would be a great buy after reading all the positive feedback on this site. My other thought is that with lots of people on here having taken the plunge and bought one there is likely to be some kind soul around to help me out if I get really stuck.

I guess what I'm wondering is how much of a learning curve is there on the roasting front? Have others with no previous roasting experience got something at least drinkable within a reasonable period of time??

I'm perfectly happy to persevere long term with roasting and don't expect to become a master overnight but as I've never tried anything like it before I'm feeling slightly nervous. With my little one often playing up my real concern is having the concentration to approach things methodically. I have severe baby brain (coffee helps though!!).

Any thoughts / encouragement / discouragement accepted and very much appreciated from any experienced souls - coffee has kept me sane whilst on maternity leave. At least my brain has been learning and working - very important

I'm no rocket scientist and I roast coffee that everyone loves. Roasting is really simple and even if you get it slightly wrong it won't be too bad. The Behmor makes it very easy and it is well supported by Behmor and CS if you run into issues.

Comment

If you can follow a recipe Kirsty and duplicate the process when you need to you can roast coffee.

Go for it.

Comment

Agree with comments above. It is really easy to get something good on the Behmor. There's plenty of advice on getting good roasts on this site, and plenty of people to help out if you do have any problems.