Pouring Latte Art technique....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pouring Latte Art technique....

Hi All...Im a newbie, and this is my first post on CS. Ive found the info on this site great, so joined in.

Im wondering, can anyone help me. I cannot for the life of me seem to be able to pour a latte flower.
    (Fluked a heart here and there)
    I froth the milk fine, but when I try and jiggle the jug from side to side to get a flower,
    all I get is the milk seems to gloop forward from the back and sides of the jug, so sort of splashes into the cup.
    If I try smaller wiggles the all i get is a very minute flower like thing in the middle of the cup. I can never manage to get the beautiful flower art you guys are producing here.

Are their any tips someone can give me to help?

Cheers...Kevbb.

Re: Pouring Latte Art technique....

Much like making espresso, to pour good latte art (or just pour anything that doesnt look like a Rorschach test on drugs) all factors have to align: the quality of the milk, the amount of air, the length of time, and even the design of the pitcher. Take all these and add the pouring technique itself.

I have been able to get some artish looking designs with a bell pitcher, but the spout is way too wide. Look for a pitcher that looks like one of these:
    http://www.1st-line.com/machines/home_mod/eg/pitchers.htm
    or these
    http://www.espressosupply.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=esp&Category_C ode=215

Notice that they are fairly straight-walled, the spouts extend a good distance down the side of the pitcher, and there is a slight lip at the lip of the pour spout.

Best advice is to get to a cafe that pours good art and watch and learn and ask questions.

Comment

Thanks Randy for the links...

my jugs look pretty good then on the scale of what you showed me. They look almost identical.
      I have a 20 & 30 oz jug (600 / 900 ml) I guess that means its purely my technique that sucks.