Gah - Latte art failures and successes with different jugs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gah - Latte art failures and successes with different jugs

So Im an amateur barista with a Breville BES860. A combo grinder/espresso machine. It came with this standard milk jug.

[img]http://www.breville.com.au/media/catalog/product/cache/11/image/463x348/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/b/e/bes860xl119_4.jpg
    [/img]
    Now, attached are some latte art pictures, all made by me. These hearts/rosettas were made with the standard jug, Ive been practicing for a while now and im starting to get a technique that suits me.

After a while of getting reasonble rosettas with this jug, I thought, hey why not get an Incasa jug, like the ones they use out at cafes and try? So based on comments Ive seen on CS as well as other sites, now I have both 600ml and 400ml incasa jugs, but I can NOT, for the life of me, get a decent rosetta with these jugs. I either cant get the milk to  billow up the crema, and on the occasions that it does, the foam refuses to sit on the crema when I jiggle backwards. I either get a blob on one side of the cup, or a completely brown surface, the crema never broke. Th foams there, its just that all the milk dives below.

I texture the milk the same way for both standard breville and incasa jugs, stretch til slightly warm to the touch, then dip below and allow it to whirlpool till heated. This usually gives me very nice milk for latte art for the Breville jug. With the Incasa jugs, I tried stretching it below what I normally do, thinking that the foam was to thick and perhaps i need to get it thinner. Nope, same old milk dives below all crema.