Suggestions for more beans

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Suggestions for more beans

I would like to experiment with some blending but as I am new to this I dont have a lot of choice in beans, yet. I bought the May starter pack and the harrar and peaberry from the June poll.
    Since most of the starter pack was used in learning to roast and satisfying my coffee habit I am predominatly left with the 2 from the june poll.

I would like to get some green beans from the site sponsers to broaden my choice and experience. So I am hoping for some guidence.

I dont really know how to describe the taste qualities well but do know I like good coffee

First let me say I have yet to develop the taste for short blacks. I like milk in my coffee and enjoy a cappuccino every day or two. I am tending to make and taste espresso regularly so I will probably develop a taste for it over time.

Regarding the beans I have enjoyed all of them as individual beans but my order of preference is
    Guatemalan huehue
    harrar
    PNG Sihereni
    PNG peaberry
    Panama panamaria
    Brazil mogiana

I have several questions. Since I have good stock of the harrar and peaberry is it wise to use them as a base or should I look at a different bean to use as a base. I have read that most espresso blends use brazil as a base but the bean I have is just not my favorite a little of it adds to the blends I have tried but in quantity I find it not to my taste.

If I can use the harrar and peaberry as the base what beans would you suggest I get to extend my blending potential and experience.

I know I am probably asking a lot but it would be great to have explanations of what a bean might add to a blend so I can start to try to understand the changes as I taste them.

thanks in advance for any suggestions
    David

Re: Suggestions for more beans

Hi there, David,