X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nice chocolatey blend

Hi All,

Long time lurker, first time poster.

I bought some of the Bolivia Green Mountain Estate as well as the Tanzania Kyaurinde from the last beanbay. Everyone on here raved about the awesome chocolate flavours from the Bolivian but I just couldnt seem to nail it. It was always a bit sad in the cup for me. I primarily drink milk-based drinks so I like something that can punch through the milk. I tried different roasts but just couldnt get it.

With the Tanzania, it was almost the opposite. It was almost too acidic. So I decided what the hell, Ill try a 50/50 blend. Im fairly new to roasting - Ive got a coretto setup thanks to this site and I just made my first exhaust fan-bucket bean cooler. Never blended anything before.

Anyway, the result was a ripping great coffee that has loads of chocolate, balanced acidity, and just a touch of sweetness. Works really well with milk, and not too bad as an espresso/long black either.

So anyway I thought Id share my first blending experience. Cheers and happy roasting.

Re: Nice chocolatey blend

Blended pre or post roast?
    And what level did you roast to?

Just curious, as my other half loves a huge chocolatey cup.

Comment

It take it to about CS10 - around the 215 degree mark give or take. I wait for the first snaps of second crack, give it a little longer but I pull it before it gets to a rolling second crack.

Comment

Hi Blergen
        Sounds interesting! Ive just picked up some Brasil/Columb and some Tanz/Eth from bean bay, and Im looking to try a similar blend - sthn for body/choc and Afr for flavour/spice.
        I have had some interesting experiences trying to do an in-roast blend in with that combo, and had the africans end up as charcoal while the rest is CS7-8, but I also dont want to do multiple Corretto roasts - Id end up with too much to keep fresh.