X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coffee Blending.

When blending coffee, do you blend before roasting or after roasting ?​

G'day mate...

Either. If the beans in the blend are going to use similar individual profiles, then pre-blending works out very well. On the other hand, if various beans in the blend require quite divergent profiles to get the best out of them, then post-blending is the ideal way to go...

Mal.

Comment

Originally posted by phwoolf View Post
      When blending coffee, do you blend before roasting or after roasting ?​
      Mostly after roasting as I use a Behmor and I don't think it really suits preblending like other roasters. In saying that I've done a few preblended roasts where I knew the two origins would respond in a similar way to the profile I used. Both are viable methods IMO but blending after roasting gives you a few more options.

Comment

Many thanks guys. As I am new to the blending scene and am using a Behmor, initially, I will do my blending after roasting each bean separately. Once I have gained a lot more experience with various beans and their profiles I will try blending before roasting.

Comment

I use a Behmor and blend prior to roasting. I have had some great successes and very few failures. I don't experiment as much as some but I still think it is great.

Comment

I use the kjm blend or variants of it in a kkto. Most always pre blend unless I'm over capacity in the amount I want to roast

Comment