Cupping my Starter Pack

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cupping my Starter Pack

I am fairly new to this cupping business and would like some assistance if someone is willing to give their 2c worth.

The things I would really like to know are;

1.  What stage of roasting should I go to in each bean to bring out its best qualities. (I think I am City Roast to Full city roast type of guy, usually drinking milk based drinks with the odd espresso.

2. With each bean, do you have any suggestions as to drink them as a single origin or are they better to be used as a base for blends.

Beans I received in my Starter Pack
    • Brazil Peaberry
    • Indian Tiger Mountain
    • Zambian AA Lupili Estate
    • Ugandan Robusta

I understand that different people have different tastes, but if a particular bean is best blended rather than SO, or if a bean reaches its full potential just before rolling second crack then that sort of information would be very handed when roasting my beans in order to reach the beans fullest potential when cupping them.

Re: Cupping my Starter Pack

Indian Tiger Mountain is very good as both a SO or a blender. This is a favourite of mine and one of the first beans I ever roasted.

Roast it to the the start of 2nd crack or even about 10 seconds into second crack. I myself prefer it as a lighter than a darker roast. Some people like it as a dark roast. My advice is to start with this one as it is pretty forgiving and it is fairly easy to roast.

I do not know the others so I cannot help you with these.

Comment

Ditto re the Tiger Mountain.