PNG mystery green

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PNG mystery green

Wasnt sure whether to post this one here, or the roasting section, as the question touches on both origin & recommended roasting tips ...

I just received a kg of greens from my commercial roastery who were only willing to divulge that they are "PNG A-grade Arabica SO" (trying to extract anything more specific was futile, trade secret yaknow ). I asked their master roaster for a bit of advice - he said to pull them from the fire at "medium roast". So Im guessing he means before 2C???

Anyway being an absolute newbie to the roasting game (thisll be my first, while I await arrival of Peruvians & Dominicans from Greenbay), Ive been scouring through different posts trying to get an idea of different PNG SOs, their profiles, & what roasting methods work best on them.

The more I read, the more I realise how much variety there is - Siherone, Sigri, Kimel, Okapa, Marogogipe, Peaberry, & Im sure Ive missed a few thousand more!

The beans I have measure about 10mm in length, fairly consistently - would this indicate that theyre a normal sized bean (not as huge as a Marogogipe, or tiny as a Peaberry, therefore can I rule these 2 out?)

Now to the roasting ... I realise everyone will have their personal preference with any green either snatching them from the fire pre-2C if they prefere the fruity/spicy aromas, or past 2C if they prefer a more chocolatey profile. However can any savvy, experienced roasters (& cuppers) give some hints on whether all PNG beans display certain similar characteristics when roasted a certain length of time????

Ta,
    Tony

Re: PNG mystery green

Time to experiment, Grinder!!
    Why dont you split the KG in 4 or 5 lots and roast each one slightly different...
    most PNGs like to be out well before rolling SC, but you can play around a bit, just for fun!

then taste each one as an SO, and make an SO-blend from the rest! (the ones you like, anyway ;D)