Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yemen Al-Hajj Boaan

Wow is an apt descriptor of this one.

I was instantly amazed by the fruity aroma of the bean even when green.
    I continued to be amazed by the aroma coming from the bag i roasted last week and now ive cracked it open and put it through my machine, im incredibly excited.

Im no cupping expert and often struggle to decipher flavours but through milk id describe this one as bright, almost wine-like acidity, yet with a huge amount of fruity sweetness.
    Very well balanced, despite a lot going on.

Thats probably a contradiction to experienced cuppers but its exactly what i tasted.

Next step is to try it as an espresso and as a pourover, and then ask myself why i didnt buy a second bag of it. :-[

Id be interested to hear what others think of it.

Re: Yemen Al-Hajj Boaan

Originally posted by 1616165C0 link=1300837644/0#0 date=1300837644
    why i didnt buy a second bag of it
    Because we wanted to make sure plenty of others could share the joy   Well, that and Andy mentioned this is "the first of 5 different regional Yemen beans" and the stash wouldnt cope with that much more excitement  :-/

Still waiting for my Sunday Roast of this and a 50/50 with the Java Ijen.

Comment

Originally posted by 3D2D2F3C2B374E0 link=1300837644/1#1 date=1300844587
      Well, that and Andy mentioned this is "the first of 5 different regional Yemen beans" and the stash wouldnt cope with that much more excitement  Undecided
      Ah, i forgot about that.
      Now im extra excited.

Ive only had two Yemeni beans now and theyre both easily in my top 5 in terms of beans ive personally roasted so if the the other four varietals are even half as good as this one and the Bani Ismail, were in for a treat.

Originally posted by 3D2D2F3C2B374E0 link=1300837644/1#1 date=1300844587
      Still waiting for my Sunday Roast of this and a 50/50 with the Java Ijen.
      Id be interested to know how it goes in a blend.