Results 1 to 36 of 36
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By TC
  • 3 Post By Rocky

Thread: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    569

    Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Did anyone see the latest reviews on Ken Davids Coffee Review?

    http://www.coffeereview.com/allreviews.cfm

    He gave a number of pods 90+ scores.

    interesting.... Should I sell my new machine and buy a pod machine :) ...

  2. #2
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Quote Originally Posted by 7453586965360 link=1232588107/0#0 date=1232588107
    Did anyone see the latest reviews on Ken Davids Coffee Review?

    http://www.coffeereview.com/allreviews.cfm

    He gave a number of pods 90+ scores.

    interesting.... Should I sell my new machine and buy a pod machine :) ...
    Fantastic!

    Who wants to buy all of my grinders??

    With all due respect to him, was that 90+/500 or is he losing it ::)

  3. #3
    Senior Member fatboy_1999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,121

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Perhaps the pods they supplied for him were made in the back room 2 minutes prior to the shot being pulled.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    569

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    put it this way - there was a bit of abuse on CoffeeGeek Twitter.
    I wonder if he was just trying to be controversial.

    He rated some Italian Canned beans fairly highly a while ago and got a lot of abuse.


  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,687

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    FWIW, I respect Ken D very highly on the coffee front.... as far as espresso coffee goes, thats another story... although I havent read the mentioned article.

  6. #6
    Senior Member redzone121's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,162

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Quote Originally Posted by 636471676A7C5A343C3C3C050 link=1232588107/2#2 date=1232591957
    Perhaps the pods they supplied for him were made in the back room 2 minutes prior to the shot being pulled.
    Yeah "Fatboy" and maybe he smoked them instead of making coffee out of them.............theres a thought.............nah that was when I was young ! ;D

    Come on Kenny who you batting for now?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    505

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Is he marking these compared to non pod (normal) espresso?

    The article seemed to imply that he is.

    He did say;
    "Anyone interested in the very best and freshest espresso with the greatest variety of choice at the most reasonable cost should forget about pods, capsules and discs and learn how to use a good conventional home espresso machine and grinder."

    And also mentioned that you are stuck with the machine and limited to the choice of what pods are being made (including that they are all 7g).

    One of the reasons I never bothered looking at these things (before I was a coffee snob) was the thought "what happens if they stop producing these pod things?"
    Not even the women who whould rather this coffee over George Clooney can sway me on this one! ;D

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,673

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Quote Originally Posted by 6665777773657D040 link=1232588107/6#6 date=1232602778
    Not even the women who whould rather this coffee over George Clooney can sway me on this one! ;D

    Sorry, but Id take george Clooney over coffee any day.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    569

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Quote Originally Posted by 637A6C66616B6E0F0 link=1232588107/7#7 date=1232955086
    Quote Originally Posted by 6665777773657D040 link=1232588107/6#6 date=1232602778
    Not even the women who whould rather this coffee over George Clooney can sway me on this one! ;D

    Sorry, but Id take george Clooney over coffee any day.
    and you call yourself a coffeesnob ;D

  10. #10
    Senior Member Rocky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Central Queensland
    Posts
    1,086

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    So...would it be possible to make a pod that would deliver good coffee? If you started with a really good bean and a sufficient amount of grind was vacuum sealed immediately after grinding and then not exposed to heat in storage, then used in a pod machine that administered water at the right temp....why would it not make good coffee? (Im not aware of anyone actually doing this, but then I dont pretend to be a coffee expert either)

  11. #11
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    16,698

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Quote Originally Posted by 724F434B59200 link=1232588107/9#9 date=1233140192
    So...would it be possible to make a pod that would deliver good coffee? *If you started with a really good bean and a sufficient amount of grind was vacuum sealed immediately after grinding and then not exposed to heat in storage, *then used in a pod machine that administered water at the right temp....why would it not make good coffee? *(Im not aware of anyone actually doing this, but then I dont pretend to be a coffee expert either)
    I guess it would be possible to come up with a system that may produce OK coffee but seriously doubt that it would ever be rated as high as excellent, or even good by CS standards. Dont know that vacuum sealing would be the way to go though, probably better to use a dry nitrogen flushing system as the bags are being sealed. Youd still end up with the problem of limited choice, no control over dose & grind, etc.... :-?

    Youd also be stuck with someone elses idea of what constitutes the makings of a good coffee and have little or no input into any of the variables. For example, even if Im using someone elses roasted beans (high quality of course), I still like to adjust some of the variables from time to time in order to enhance particular aspects of the beans flavour profile depending on what style of coffee I want to drink at that particular time. Really enjoy the control thats possible with a proper espresso machine. Pods just seem wrong.... :-/

    Mal.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    505

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Quote Originally Posted by 4964606C610D0 link=1232588107/10#10 date=1233152246
    Pods just seem wrong.... :-/

    Mal.
    Agree and I think most CSs would too.

    Maybe PODs could give good coffee but the ideology is the quick, clean, easy way of making espresso.
    The expense of this is the lack of control and limiting the amount one can learn.

    This is the antithesis of what most CSs are about.

    There isnt really anything wrong with PODs. They are there to fill a market spot. For someone who wants "good" coffee without the fuss. Some people dont have the joy in learning that we get. Some arent driven to find perfection, or enjoy the fact that they will never get there. Some dont have the time. Some dont have the tastebuds to notice the difference. Some notice the difference (like my brother) but find putting in the time for great coffee not worth it.

    I think we are, including myself, finding facts to back our ideology. They just seem wrong is the perfect comment.

    Then again rating a POD 90+?

  13. #13
    Senior Member Rocky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Central Queensland
    Posts
    1,086

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    I think anyone on this Forum is going to feel just the same way Mal and Bassway feel - I certainly do - but I am interested in the mechanics or science of the whole coffee process and dont want to do a disservice to the people who choose an alternate process without looking at all aspects of it. I have a friend (who is actually to blame for sending me down the quality coffee path) who has a Krupps Nespresso Pod machine, and insists that it makes coffee that is as good as any Espresso machine. I obviously dont agree with him otherwise I would have saved $1800. and bought one of those. I am however, keen to be fair and realistic about other coffee making methods.

  14. #14
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    16,698

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Hmmm,

    I think all brewing methods can, and do make outstanding brews so long as the method/technique is correct and only high quality, freshly roasted beans are used and then ground immediately prior to brewing with the aid of a reasonably decent grinder. I think that is the crux of the problem where pods are concerned. The few different ones I tried (out of curiosity) certainly did not taste even close to what I could brew out of my (then) espresso machine and as a result, was not convinced in the slightest that I should venture in that direction of coffee brewing.

    More than any other brew method that Ive ever tried, absolutely convinced me of the need to use great beans roasted properly and only ground immediately before brewing. I know I repeat this "mantra" a lot around the boards here (and elsewhere given half a chance) but I think there is nothing more important when the expected outcome is a great brew of coffee. I think coffee pods are just an invention for the convenience of people who are convinced that they dont have the time available to enjoy a "real" coffee.... And that is a pity,

    Mal.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    504

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Nespresso capsules with 91 points.... :-/ oh deary thats a worry

    I tried it pre machine / snobbishness and compared to my plunger it was essentially flavoured brown with fake almost white crema

    Most awful excuse for coffee ive ever had, aside from the super auto machine at my old work or dare I say it instant... had that twice and was almost physically sick :-[

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,673

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Just to revive this, I actually had the opportunity to have a pod coffee at work a few days ago. Keep in mind I work in a major public hospital.

    It was a choice between instant (instant diarrhoea for me) the overhot, overextracted crap made by a clueless kitchen worker from the cafeteria and a pod i decided to try a pod. So I parted with $1.50 and another staff member helped me to make a coffee.

    I was surprised. It wasnt what I would get from my own machine or a very good cafe with decent Baristas. However it was better than the afore mentioned alternatives.

    Yes I may have gone temporarily mad. I would never recommend pods for people like snobs, but they are at least more drinkable than instant or bad cafeteria coffee and better than the stale supermarket stuff made in a cheap and nasty $50 trying to pass itself as an espresso machine.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    440

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Last pod I tried I just dropped in a cup of hot water!!!! Drink it as a long black and I dont mind the quality as much anyway. Pods dont work too well like this though as they are tightly packed so dont let water through them unless under pressure.

    The reality of Pods is they provide consistent coffee and for most that is acceptable. To me the cost is just rediculous though.

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Quote Originally Posted by 4D60646865090 link=1232588107/10#10 date=1233152246
    Quote Originally Posted by 724F434B59200 link=1232588107/9#9 date=1233140192
    So...would it be possible to make a pod that would deliver good coffee? *If you started with a really good bean and a sufficient amount of grind was vacuum sealed immediately after grinding and then not exposed to heat in storage, *then used in a pod machine that administered water at the right temp....why would it not make good coffee? *(Im not aware of anyone actually doing this, but then I dont pretend to be a coffee expert either)
    I guess it would be possible to come up with a system that may produce OK coffee but seriously doubt that it would ever be rated as high as excellent, or even good by CS standards. Dont know that vacuum sealing would be the way to go though, probably better to use a dry nitrogen flushing system as the bags are being sealed. Youd still end up with the problem of limited choice, no control over dose & grind, etc.... :-?

    Youd also be stuck with someone elses idea of what constitutes the makings of a good coffee and have little or no input into any of the variables. For example, even if Im using someone elses roasted beans (high quality of course), I still like to adjust some of the variables from time to time in order to enhance particular aspects of the beans flavour profile depending on what style of coffee I want to drink at that particular time. Really enjoy the control thats possible with a proper espresso machine. Pods just seem wrong.... :-/

    Mal.
    See http://www.perfectpodmaker.com/pages/product_details.php?ProductID=1

    Looks like you can make your own, pretty damn cheaply too. BTW, yes Im a coffee snob, but thats precisely why Im thinking of a pod machine - for work where the alternative is Nescafe or a daily run to the local cafe (where the barristers a pretty sh!te sometimes).

    Cheers

  19. #19
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Quote Originally Posted by 31353F37336E686B5C0 link=1232588107/17#17 date=1303546744
    See http://www.perfectpoomaker.com/pages/product_details.php?ProductID=1
    ......
    (where the barristers a pretty sh!te sometimes).
    Welcome micko....perhaps they should get a gig in a cafe if theyre lousy at law? :-? ;D
    mcoccia likes this.

  20. #20
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    16,688
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Quote Originally Posted by 43474D45411C1A192E0 link=1232588107/17#17 date=1303546744
    Looks like you can make your own,

    I was under the impression that the Nespresso have put a copyright on their pod shape/size which is why no one is doing those.

    The website you linked to says:

    Works with Senseo, Krups, Melitta, Simple Human, Juan Valdez, Bunn, Home Cafe, Grindmaster, Mr. Coffee, Hamilton Beach and More. Use your favorite coffees: Seattles Best, Kona, Green Mountain, Peets, Starbucks, Jamaica Blue Mountain, Duncan Donuts and more. . Make your own pods at home.

    I doubt many (if any) of those capsule machines are available in 240v Australian market maybe with the exception of the Senseo that was around briefly a couple of years ago.

    I think you would do better looking at an ESE Pod adaptor for a "real" machine.

  21. #21
    .
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    2,312

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    FWIW my informati0n is the copyright on their pod lapses later this year and competitors are already tooled up & ready to release competing pods on the same day.....

    Also FWIW, aside for the nexpresso phenomenon, pods in general have not been well received in this market no matter how much interested parties have been pushing to make it successful (for them).......some things work in some places, and not in others.....

    Rgdz,
    A.

  22. #22
    Senior Member Rocky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Central Queensland
    Posts
    1,086

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Our work pod (Lavazza Blue) machine is gone. Not enough people who thought it was worth $1.50 for a coffee. I would have one a week just as a change from a coffee bag. My preference is always to sprint down the street to a favourite cafe if time permits. I thought this machine was superior to the Nespresso pods which I never liked much. I am currently trying to coax the bistro in the hotel across the street to put a bit of time into their cafe staff and see if they can produce some drinkable coffee. The bean is Miko or somesuch. Dont know whether it is possible to get good coffee from it, but worth a try. Pods? not really worth the effort.

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    440

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Those lavazza blue are terrible. Like all pods they are too weak. No body and overall a flat drink. The machine i tried the lavazza blue on uses coffee whitener for their milk drinks and that stuff was just plain to creamy.

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sydney North Shore
    Posts
    1,325

    Re: Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    We should drink what we like when and how we like it.

    The coffee produced in the video about the perfect pod maker was not very impressive to me. Just as well I couldnt taste it. No sign of any crema for a start.

    Perhapse the coffee used was old stale preground, or the water channels arround the paper pod without enough water being forced through the coffee.

    Barry

  25. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1

    Lightbulb Here's something a little closer to the truth!

    I think the views here hold a little more true....

    changingopinion . blogspot. com. au/2012/11/coffee-capsules-hidden-costs. html

    Truly better, and cheaper getting fresh ground coffee and using a good old fashioned french press method will beat those pod machines any day!

    I can't post links but thought this relevant! If you wish to see the article copy paste and remove the spaces!

  26. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sydney North Shore
    Posts
    1,325
    I saw the new Woolwoths coffee pods and machine being demonstrated at a Woolies store yesterday.

    I didn't sample it as I have not had an acceptable pod coffee yet. It always tastes stale and bitter to me.

    I will stick to my freshly roasted and ground on demmand coffee brew from my BDB.

    Barry

  27. #27
    Senior Member Rocky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Central Queensland
    Posts
    1,086
    My gut feeling - just from casual observation - is that the pod machines are popping up in peoples kitchens the way dripolators did some years back. I reckon I will end up a "Pod Expert" as everywhere I go I get offered Pod coffee.
    I do like it when they visit me however because they see the Perfetta gleaming all chromy and shiney in the corner and they advance on it reverently making pacifying noises as though it might suddenly startle and bolt. They don't know anything about it but they think it must make awesome coffee just from the way it looks. Makes me smile.
    Andy, TC and Palmsy like this.

  28. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    26
    i would probably try a pod in preference to 43 beans of torture...

  29. #29
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    16,688
    Blog Entries
    1
    they see the Perfetta gleaming all chromy and shiney in the corner and they advance on it reverently making pacifying noises as though it might suddenly startle and bolt
    Very good (and funny) description, I can picture the wided-eyed stalking motion that goes with that too.

    Dad was in a whitegoods store a week ago and made the oops of looking sideways at a the coffee aisle as he headed to the section he wanted. He tells me that a salesman leapt from nowhere and tried to stuff a pod machine in his arms...
    They must be the high margin or high kickback item at the moment to be that agressive with them.

    They are everywhere at the moment. It's a good thing though if it gets people out of the instant coffee purchase... if they moved once they can move again to better coffee. We will see them all here one day when they continue their coffee journey.

  30. #30
    Senior Member Barry O'Speedwagon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PRL
    Posts
    2,592
    Yeh, its high kickback I suspect. The manufacturers/wholesalers are lowballing on the hardware with an eye to the margins on the consumables (pods).....not a new story, I know.

  31. #31
    Senior Member trentski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Altona, Melbourne
    Posts
    1,578
    The patent on the original nespresso pods has expired so everyone is jumping in on the market. Nestle have developed a new style of pod and put a new patent on that as well as trying to get the original patent expanded, they earn close to $4billion US a year from it

  32. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sydney North Shore
    Posts
    1,325
    Today through curiosity I sampled a Woolies pod coffee. I see that coffee podding is suitable for those who want a cheap machine that gives hassle free, clean, consistent and simple coffee making with a result better than instant coffee. The flavour was nothing like what I get from my Breville DB.
    Barry

  33. #33
    Senior Member brokenvase's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Chapel Hill, QLD
    Posts
    273

    Coffee Review - Coffee Pod - 90+

    Quote Originally Posted by Rocky View Post
    My gut feeling - just from casual observation - is that the pod machines are popping up in peoples kitchens the way dripolators did some years back. I reckon I will end up a "Pod Expert" as everywhere I go I get offered Pod coffee.
    I do like it when they visit me however because they see the Perfetta gleaming all chromy and shiney in the corner and they advance on it reverently making pacifying noises as though it might suddenly startle and bolt. They don't know anything about it but they think it must make awesome coffee just from the way it looks. Makes me smile.
    I too was one of them for 3 years! And Andy's right, some of us do move on and "up"... Happy with my BDB. Roasting and grind on demand now! My fellow Nespresso club friends think I'm nuts! :P

  34. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    124
    di-bella offer a re-fillable pod:
    My Di Bella Coffee
    (i assume they are still a sponsor, so I am OK to link to them )

  35. #35
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    63
    I think the average punter who buys one of these machines does so because they are easy and clean, not the type of people who are going to pack their own. To improve quality over a bought pod you would have to grind and pack on demand qnd users interested in quality would soon graduate to a espresso machine.
    You can buy handles for e61 machines, must be for posers who want a flash looking machine only, doesnt make sense to me.

  36. #36
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1,275
    Behmor Brazen - $249 - Free Freight
    Pod machine's fill a (large) market sector.... one that wants the impression of fresh brewed coffee in a quick clean form.
    Unfortunately, i suspect that the majority of coffee drinkers cannot tell the difference between "coffee" ..and "Good coffee".
    They probably know bad coffee ( instant, stale brewed drip , Plunger from supermarket pre-ground,. etc )... but they are content with the "coffee" they get from their new trendy pod gadget. !
    Pods = marketing genius. !



Similar Threads

  1. Coffee while travelling.... (a micro review)
    By KJM in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 29th May 2010, 08:14 PM
  2. perth coffee review website..
    By petar in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th March 2010, 05:39 PM
  3. Melbourne Coffee Review iPhone App
    By cremachine in forum VIC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th January 2010, 05:04 PM
  4. July newsletter - The Coffee Review
    By ed_vinas in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th July 2004, 01:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •