Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Reviews to help me choose which Brown beans?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

    Reviews to help me choose which Brown beans?

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi - Im *new here and came with the aim to purchase beans from the store however I must be doing something wrong as I cannot find any reviews or discussions to help me determine which beans to buy - could someone please point me in the right direction? Just looking for brown beans, not green. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    1,756

    Re: Reviews to help me choose which Brown beans?

    Espresso WOW, is absolutely amazing!!!!! Best Espresso blend ive ever tasted!!! here it is:
    http://beanbay.coffeesnobs.com.au/ViewProduct.aspx/161-espresso-wow
    And a discussion on it here......
    http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1191811557

    Best of luck
    warren
    welcome to CS :D

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    28

    Re: Reviews to help me choose which Brown beans?

    go into the product descriptions and youll find a succinct and informative description of style, flavour, body etc; have a browse and give something ago that appeals, any of them will be good, it is CoffeeSnobs after-all.

    if they dont hit the money (id be surprised) try something else! read the descriptions while drinking the coffee and youll get a feeling for what the words are trying to express. then you can base your further purchases on better understanding of the descriptors.

    if you just cant decide, a roasted sample pack is fun so you can try a few origins, even try your hand at blending...

    if you like espresso, wow is pretty good *;)

    be sure to grind fresh with a good grinder to get best results

    welcome to CS

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

    Re: Reviews to help me choose which Brown beans?

    fair enough, guess I just expected reviews. I was introduced to this site by one of the moderators I bumped into in her cafe when travelling and ended uptaking home a bag of WOW as a gift so I have just finished that. We have a Delonghi PrimaDonna Avant, its about our 3rd fully automated machine and about our 5th coffee machine having worked our way through various ones. Ive tried so many different beans, and as I prefer a short espresso the taste is important to me but so is $$ as we provide the machine and coffee to our staff in our office also so we go through about 40 cups a day (kept the wow to ourselves though) and gave the staff the Lavazza from the supermarket!! Just out to experiment on taste/value for money ;)

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,520

    Re: Reviews to help me choose which Brown beans?

    start roasting your own for +- $15 a kilo.......

    how cheap is that !!!

    is supermarket mud all you think of your staff........ shame on you :-/

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

    Re: Reviews to help me choose which Brown beans?

    ummm...$15kg? ... tempting... guess I should read up about this now Im here... thanks

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Port Fairy
    Posts
    2,993

    Re: Reviews to help me choose which Brown beans?

    At your 40 a day your up round 2-3kg a week or a bit better so most roasters will happily supply you at that rate and dont inflict stale stoupor market beans on your staff ;)

    As well as buying WOW which will suit espresso or long blacks really well there are some other sponsors of this site who are roasters too (have a look at the list on the left). Have a try of 3 or 4 different lots over the next month and see what your staff think they like the best.

    Lots to choose from and at say 3kg/week you should be buying better for the same price or less than supermarket junk *:)

  8. #8
    Super Moderator scoota_gal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    4,126

    Re: Reviews to help me choose which Brown beans?

    Hey there eocom...how did you enjoy the Wow?

    Also, if you go up to the cupping room, youll find some discussion on various beans which may help to give you some more idea on what to choose.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    1,756

    Re: Reviews to help me choose which Brown beans?

    What a coffeesnobs advocate you are scoota gal!!!! carrying a bag of WOW wherever you go! R_E_S_P_E_C_T ;D

  10. #10
    Super Moderator scoota_gal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    4,126

    Re: Reviews to help me choose which Brown beans?

    Aw shucks...its nothing... ;)

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    33

    Re: Reviews to help me choose which Brown beans?

    Behmor Brazen - $249 - Free Freight
    I highly recommend the Roasted Sample Pack. *Its very good value at $30 and gives you the opportunity to try 4 different single origins or blends. *Theyre always freshly roasted. As someone mentioned below, you can also try blending, which can have some interesting results.

    All the best
    Marie



Similar Threads

  1. Sourcing good fresh brown beans
    By Rocky in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 7th August 2011, 06:12 PM
  2. Where to buy coffee machines and good brown beans in China
    By cosmicfluff in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st July 2011, 08:40 PM
  3. Does Roaster Capacity mean Green or Brown Beans?
    By badogrude in forum Roasters
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 19th July 2010, 09:47 AM
  4. Brown beans in Sydney
    By Jordywills in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd June 2010, 09:12 AM
  5. Buying Brown Beans from CS
    By 2010dingdong in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 7th June 2010, 09:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •