Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Espro Tamper or Pullman Tamper - Looking for CSers opinions

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    150

    Espro Tamper or Pullman Tamper - Looking for CSers opinions

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi Fellow CSers,

    I have a question for you all. Im looking at purchasing a new tamper and Im looking at either a Pullman or the Espro. There is really 1 reason between both im stuck with and not sure which way to go.

    Pullman - For the reason that you can have them made to order and fitted.

    Espro - For the reason that it eliminates one of the many variables of tamping with the click.

    Any feed back would be much appreciated.

    ::)

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    921

    Re: Espro Tamper or Pullman Tamper - Looking for CSers opinions

    I have a pullman barista tamper and would recommend it without hesitation, feel, balance, fit and the true tamp rings make it the best I have used. For me I may want to adjust my tamping pressure and the espro doesnt allow for that. That said I think you would get great service from either.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,339

    Re: Espro Tamper or Pullman Tamper - Looking for CSers opinions

    They both do a nice job.

    Of course, one is mass produced and the other artisan made.

    Variable tamp pressure isnt a big deal if you always tamp firmly imho. I dont think a few kg over is critical or will do any harm.

    My advice - out of these two, pick the one that feels best in your hand. ;)

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    33

    Re: Espro Tamper - Has anyone got views on them

    I have a Pullman Barista. I particularly like the rubber compression zone which feels very comfortable on the fingers and stops slipping. The rings are also handy for checking that your tamp is level.

    I have tried an Espro at a course, but didnt find it as comfortable.

    You can check your tamp pressure with scales, so the click is not necessary.

    The best way would be to have a feel of both.

    Marie

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    116

    Re: Espro Tamper or Pullman Tamper - Looking for CSers opinions

    I have a number of Reg Barber tampers but recenty bought an Espro to use as a consistency measure for pressure.

    I was over tamping significantly, and if I now had to make this decision again, I would have bought the Espro first and then, if I wanted a properly fitted tamper, migrate to that.

    cheers,
    James

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3,498

    Re: Espro Tamper or Pullman Tamper - Looking for CSers opinions

    Quote Originally Posted by 616A667D6E790B0 link=1233795099/4#4 date=1233796736
    I was over tamping significantly, and if I now had to make this decision again, I would have bought the Espro first and then, if I wanted a properly fitted tamper, migrate to that.

    Or for a low tech solution which will cost you less....

    Just tamp on a set of bathroom scales..... before long you will be able to judge the correct amount of pressure to apply and the scales will be no longer required....

    And you wont have a redundant tamper looking for a new home ;)

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,687

    Re: Espro Tamper or Pullman Tamper - Looking for CSers opinions

    Hey,

    I have both of these tampers and personally I like them both at different times, for different reasons. I find the weight balance of the Barista unreal. I like the diameter of the neck just above the base and the rubber padding is delish. A tamper I could use all day punching out coffees if thats what I did. When I do small gigs where Im doing shot after shot I usually use the Barista.
    In regards to the Espro, I do like the weight of it (for a change)and I find the wide curve at the base of the neck comfortable also. I dont mind the click but almost find it annoying sometimes. I kinda wouldnt mind the same tamper without the click just for kicks. All said and done, both are great tampers, but the fitted nature of the Pullman is the major thing for me that sets it apart for me. I find the Epsro has a bit too much play. Were not talking about much, but after using a 58.2,3,4,5mm compared to a straight 58.0mm I notice the difference.

    As far as the quality in the cup goes though, both tampers could do what theyre meant to well... I reckon theres other areas to consider aside from the tamp.

    Hope thats helpful or confusing ::)

    YeeZa

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,917

    Re: Espro Tamper or Pullman Tamper - Looking for CSers opinions

    I own an espro and have a pullman barista on order. My overarching comment would be that tampers are simply not that important in the scheme of things and you are very unlikely to be unhappy with either choice.

    Most people seem to emphasise one feature of each of these tampers and my opinion on those features is totally different to what you commonly read. People often talk about the espro tamper as a training tool and state or imply that you will want to move on from it once you have learnt how to tamp at a consistent pressure. In fact, you lose nothing by having the click function compared with a tamper that does not have it - you can still tamp at a lesser pressure or tamp at a greater pressure if you like. David Makin, who finished 2nd at last years World Barista Championships, has been using the espro tamper for years. Similarly, people often talk about the fact that the pullman tamper is fitted as an advantage, implying that it will get you a better result in the cup. As far as I can tell, this is simply not true, though it might help to keep things cleaner.

    Like I said, its hard to imagine going wrong with any of these tampers. Also consider the coffeelab tamper, which is another high quality australian-made product with many of the features of the pullman barista.

    If you have large hands, you are probably better advised to stay away from the Espro. If you are buying a Pullman tamper, I would strongly suggest getting the Barista model. This tamper has had a lot of research put into it and is, simply, a far better tamper in practically every respect than the Deluxe.

    Cheers,

    Luca

  9. #9
    Senior Member Koffee_Kosmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    5,113

    Re: Espro Tamper or Pullman Tamper - Looking for CSers opinions

    I have huge hands and find the Barista Pullman tamper with the height adjustable handle is the best for me
    Not enough credence goes to the best feel in the hand

    I also like the soft rubber surround
    The guide lines allow me to tamp to the depth my machine requires with a quick glance

    I cant comment on the Espro click but can see the merits of such a design

    One other Australian Designed tamper we debated about some time ago called the "Demaral." just wondering if it has gone into production
    Available from Diamond C

    See discussion and picks on this CS link
    http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1226934588/17#17

    KK

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    361

    Re: Espro Tamper or Pullman Tamper - Looking for CSers opinions

    I had the same decision to make recently, but went with the pullman. glad I did, the tamp is a lot cleaner and a lot easier to get level. not to mention the tamper is a beautiful work of art! still kinda like the idea of the click at 30 lbs, but a bit of practice on the scales will fix it ;)

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,334

    Re: Espro Tamper or Pullman Tamper - Looking for CSers opinions

    Quote Originally Posted by 5244414150525E57575454310 link=1233795099/2#2 date=1233796427
    Variable tamp pressure isnt a big deal if you always tamp firmly imho.
    Not if youre tamping hundreds of handles a day...rsi will catch up with you one day.

    If youre a cafe barista....Espro is a good choice. Ive thrown the Reg Barber at work out in favour of the Espro again. Tamping 15 kg of coffee a day gets tiring.

    If youre a home barista, I honestly believe it makes no difference what tamper you use, as long as it has a reasonable fit to the basket. *Espro at home will allow you to achieve muscle memory for how much 15 kg is. I always like to use the Espro to recalibrate my tamp every now and then...just like a milk thermometer. The click only serves as a guide or recommended pressure.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    36

    Re: Espro Tamper or Pullman Tamper - Looking for CSers opinions

    Having not tried the Espro i cant truly compare, but i recently ordered a huon pine handled pullman and i am SO pleased. The whole experience - from reading the passionate and committed explanations on the website prior to choosing; to excellent and ongoing clear communication after purchase; to a beautiful piece of hand-crafted art in my kitchen - has been sublime. Honestly? I dont care if i suddenly cant drink coffee and cease to be able to use the pullman tamper, it is a beauty to behold and Im so glad i have one :).

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: Espro Tamper or Pullman Tamper - Looking for CSers opinions

    Behmor Brazen - $249 - Free Freight
    We all at work use pullman tampers. Best tamper ive ever used by far. Still remember the first puc i compacted with mine. Was an absolute joy being soooo comfortable when applying pressure.....:)



Similar Threads

  1. Espro tamper
    By jporter in forum Brewing Equipment (non-machine specific)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 20th October 2009, 02:02 PM
  2. Espro Tamper
    By Bart in forum Brewing Equipment (non-machine specific)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 19th July 2006, 12:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •