Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Coffee while travelling.... (a micro review)

  1. #1
    KJM
    KJM is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    688

    Coffee while travelling.... (a micro review)

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    We just spent two weeks traveling around Eyre peninsula visiting relatives and (more importantly!) fishing. As a snob, of course, coffee was essential.

    We took my AeroPress and a Hario slim ceramic hand grinder, along with our own rainwater. The heat for brewing supplied by one of those fold-up butane gas stoves.

    Quite a nice travelling setup - thoroughly recommended. I ended up buying a small plastic jug to use the AP into - rather than into a cup, since I had to make 2 coffees and pouring from the cup resulted in dribbles of coffee everywhere.

    Mrs-KJM likes milky coffees (exclusively, but this is being worked on ;)) so we needed to heat milk too. This resulted in us using a small saucepan too. So the total volume of kit is a tiny bit bigger than is minimally needed.

    The combo makes coffees much better than my brother-in-laws little breville "espresso" machine does!

    Of course, I roasted coffee for the trip. My colleague hazbean takes greens with him on his remote trips and roasts on the road, but I reckon thats a bridge too far :o.

    The AP coffees attract quite a bit of interest at campsites. Fortunately I took enough beans with me! One of the people at Elliston had coffee beans with them and was using a percolator in their caravan. She was impressed at the taste difference between percolated and AeroPressed coffee ::) She was totally blown away by the freshly roasted coffee beans and the store-bought beans she had. Fun times!

    For the record - the little Hario grinder does a superb job, but takes a serious amount of cranking. At work I have a 1959 PeDe hand grinder which takes 75 turns (spot the engineer) of the handle to grind a double. The Hario takes a bit over **200**. Which is not really a big deal, but it means you start grinding well before you start heating the water!

    I guess no-one would find any of the above surprising, but since we actually did it, I thought posting confirmation would be useful.

    If only the AP didnt look like a breast pump device!!

    /Kevin

  2. #2
    Senior Member GregWormald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,286

    Re: Coffee while travelling.... (a micro review)

    Quote Originally Posted by 5455521F0 link=1274350674/0#0 date=1274350674
    If only the AP didnt look like a breast pump device!!
    I work in a medically oriented environment and when I use my AP it gets labelled as a p---s enlarger!

    Mind you, nobody turns down a coffee no matter what the label! ;D

    Greg

  3. #3
    A_M
    A_M is offline
    Guest
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,381

    Re: Coffee while travelling.... (a micro review)

    Quote Originally Posted by 4445420F0 link=1274350674/0#0 date=1274350674
    For the record - the little Hario grinder does a superb job, but takes a serious amount of cranking. *At work I have a 1959 PeDe hand grinder which takes 75 turns (spot the engineer) of the handle to grind a double. *The Hario takes a bit over **200**. *Which is not really a big deal, but it means you start grinding well before you start heating the water!

    I guess no-one would find any of the above surprising, but since we actually did it, I thought posting confirmation would be useful.

    If only the AP didnt look like a breast pump device!!
    Says WHO as to a medical device... *Hope ya did not... TGA would have a fit *;D


    I have a baby XUI battery screwdriver... *With the right fitting... *Makes a lot easer work for grinding.... *Besides ya always need a screwdriver on a fishing trip..l

    And my old hand cranked grinder was not as great as I first hoped.

    Quote Originally Posted by 4445420F0 link=1274350674/0#0 date=1274350674
    My colleague hazbean takes greens with him on his remote trips and roasts on the road, but I reckon thats a bridge too far *.
    If it was one of those camp ovens / fry-pans with a hand paddle.. *And you were away for 3 or 4 weeks out bush FISHING..... I reckon it would be ok.

    Great yarn and worth the read... Spreading the love as to Fresh beans and Grinds.

  4. #4
    KJM
    KJM is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    688

    Re: Coffee while travelling.... (a micro review)

    Quote Originally Posted by 7E51585A4D725E515E585A525A514B3F0 link=1274350674/2#2 date=1274351254

    Says WHO as to a medical device... *Hope ya did not... TGA would have a fit *;D


    I have a baby XUI battery screwdriver... *With the right fitting... *Makes a lot easer work for grinding.... *Besides ya always need a screwdriver on a fishing trip..l

    And my old hand cranked grinder was not as great as I first hoped.
    I did consider taking the cordless drill with me, but the act of grinding is somehow comforting.... for a while at least. The last 50 or so cranks are a bit tedious though!

    The only other caution Id have with the hario is that the bearing for the shaft is the black plastic the top is made of. Overspeeding the grinder might have a bad effect on the bearing. Which would not be good!

    The PeDe grinder I have at work does an equally good job, but does it so much faster. I really do wonder why the modern hand grinders are so much slower (other than to lower the resistance to turning). The PeDe needs to be held between your knees and even then you occasionally "stall" it - the Hario requires little more than a "soft" grip..

    As far as using the AP as a BP, well, were a bit past that stage of life, but youre welcome to try ::)

    Quote Originally Posted by 7E51585A4D725E515E585A525A514B3F0 link=1274350674/2#2 date=1274351254

    If it was one of those camp ovens / fry-pans with a hand paddle.. *And you were away for 3 or 4 weeks out bush FISHING..... I reckon it would be ok.

    Great yarn and worth the read... Spreading the love as to Fresh beans and Grinds.
    I know they take roasted and greens and roast when they run low. Ill have to ask what they take exactly, but I suspect it is probably little more than a pan of some kind. Ive never been that good at roasting in a pan :-/

    /Kevin

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Port Fairy
    Posts
    2,993

    Re: Coffee while travelling.... (a micro review)

    Take a heatgun and a wooden spoon, does the trick really well :)

    My current travel kit is a Zassenhaus grinder and an Aluminium Syphon so I can do a few coffees at a time. Plenty of other options in my collection from the earlier mentioned PP to an Atomic or other stovetops and I am considering making a padded bag for the Pavoni for those places I have power or upgrade the inverter in the Trailer to 1000W :D

    It is great that there is so many travel coffee options out there.

  6. #6
    KJM
    KJM is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    688

    Re: Coffee while travelling.... (a micro review)

    Geez - a 1kW inverter from 12V!! Thats a fair bit of current - itd have to be about 90amps (assuming a 90% efficient inverter).

    The AP is (to my mind anyway) just about perfect for travelling - near zero weight and volume. Those wee little butane stoves you get for $20 match perfectly too ;) Did I mention KJM is a cheapskate?? ::)

    If I could only convince Mrs-KJM to take her coffee black, itd really simplify things even more!

    /Kevin

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Port Fairy
    Posts
    2,993

    Re: Coffee while travelling.... (a micro review)

    Thats about the figures ;) My trailer runs a 150Ah Glass mat battery already with a 300W inverter so its just a bit of an upgrade (found one at $140), visions of sitting in the bush later in the year having a double shot in silence 8-)

  8. #8
    Super Moderator scoota_gal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    4,126

    Re: Coffee while travelling.... (a micro review)

    KJM...have you considered one of those Bellman stovetop milk frothers? Its what Im thinking about getting for my coffee when away camping.

    Not to derail too much but Beanflying...have you got a CT or is it a caravan? Ive got a CT with a 105amp/hr battery, 100watt solar panel kit and a 300watt inverter at this stage. I was thinking about a bigger setup to run a coffee machine but have been enjoying the process of hand grinding the beans and heating the kettle for hot water for the plunger. Though I am thinking about the Bellman for steaming milk...

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Port Fairy
    Posts
    2,993

    Re: Coffee while travelling.... (a micro review)

    Campertrailer of sorts. Nice thing with the Pav is the quick heatup time (12-13 minutes) compared to a HX or Silvia types. All done and dusted in 15 minutes. About 8-10Ah I guess allowing for cycling.

    Warning Non Sponsor link to inverters ;) http://www.rockby.com.au/myindex.cfm they also sell a rather cool 300W baby wind turbine and Solar Panels.

    A Bellman and a Presso/AP or similar would do nicely too.

    A Franken Pav with a Gas burner might be a great option too forgotten but about a year or so back someone was playing with one? edit found it http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1240294510

  10. #10
    Super Moderator scoota_gal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    4,126

    Re: Coffee while travelling.... (a micro review)

    Quote Originally Posted by 2D2A2E212923362621284F0 link=1274350674/8#8 date=1274694440
    Campertrailer of sorts. Nice thing with the Pav is the quick heatup time (12-13 minutes) compared to a HX or Silvia types. All done and dusted in 15 minutes. About 8-10Ah I guess allowing for cycling.
    Of sorts!? *;D Is it a homemade job?

    So, youre using the Pav as your camp set up? I know you said it was about 8 - 10ah but how many watts does it draw?

    Thanks for that link, I see theyve got a pretty good price on a 1200watt inverter but I dont think it is pure sine wave. Still, awesome price on it though.

    I went in a bulk buy on the solar panels recently and paid about 470 dollars for them. Including the regulator. Im pretty happy with that.

    Might be time to start that thread on campertrailers I was thinking of... ;D ;)

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    1,756

    Re: Coffee while travelling.... (a micro review)

    Do it scoots! Start one, Im building up our CT too! I smell a CS Camping trip!!! 8-)

  12. #12
    A_M
    A_M is offline
    Guest
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,381

    Re: Coffee while travelling.... (a micro review)


    Quote Originally Posted by 5054726B6B6E716669070 link=1274350674/10#10 date=1274708470
    Do it scoots! Start one, Im building up our CT too! I smell a CS Camping trip!!! 8-)
    oh yea... I want an A trailer and a gas machine. Beans and grind can be managed. On Morton a line in the water and the wife making coffee at the high water mark. Sell a few to other fishing types and earn enough to buy some fish on the way home :-)

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Port Fairy
    Posts
    2,993

    Re: Coffee while travelling.... (a micro review)

    Quote Originally Posted by 5D4D41415A4F71494F422E0 link=1274350674/9#9 date=1274704218
    So, youre using the Pav as your camp set up? I know you said it was about 8 - 10ah but how many watts does it draw?
    1000W for the Pav but at maybe 50% (total guess) on time during heatup for 15 minutes. Works out at 1000W for say 8 minutes and 90% efficiency for the inverter gives 92A for 8 minutes actually gives 12 Ah.

    Not a sine wave inverter wont worry the Pav or anything else I am likely to have away camping.

    On the trailer front it was an ex 4 berth Go Cart trailer stripped out, carpeted and setup for carrying model aircraft/kites/camping 3 way fridge and some other bit and pieces. Really need to foam insulate the trailer next.

    Sorry to drag this off the origional topic too but its all for a good cause of better camping coffee ;)

  14. #14
    Super Moderator scoota_gal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    4,126

    Re: Coffee while travelling.... (a micro review)

    Quote Originally Posted by 6C684E5757524D5A553B0 link=1274350674/10#10 date=1274708470
    Do it scoots! Start one, Im building up our CT too! I smell a CS Camping trip!!! 8-)
    Ok! :D

  15. #15
    KJM
    KJM is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    688

    Re: Coffee while travelling.... (a micro review)

    Behmor Brazen - $249 - Free Freight
    Geez you guys! Electricity in remote places is scarce - doing it electrically seems like a bad idea.

    How about a $99 cheap chinese espresso machine from the bay and a gas modification!? Then you just need the electricity for the pump. Of course, temperature control of the boiler (aka bomb) becomes an issue, of course....

    Scoota Gal - we used to have a Bellman thingo. We managed to leave it somewhere on Yorke Peninsula a few years ago...

    The AP is actually just fine, BTW.... 8-)

    /Kevin



Similar Threads

  1. Travelling coffee set up
    By lupus in forum Brewing Equipment (non-machine specific)
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 4th August 2013, 08:02 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24th May 2012, 07:24 PM
  3. Travelling, need coffee
    By JamesM in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th January 2009, 11:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •