Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Fake online reviews! (surely not in the coffee industry)

  1. #1
    Senior Member Yelta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Moonta SA.
    Posts
    6,802

    Fake online reviews! (surely not in the coffee industry)

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    This article in todays SMH Fake online reviews mean cash-for-comment is rife

    And then this one in the Australian http://video.theaustralian.com.au/22...ng-liquid-gold wonder if he made the clip simply because he loves his Lelit.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Port Fairy
    Posts
    2,993
    Surely your not suggesting people might post stuff online to make a $$ over the truth about a product Nothing new in or out of the coffee industry or any industry for that matter.

  3. #3
    Sleep is overrated Thundergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,496
    Most fake reviews for cafes are probably the owner or their mates.
    First time reviewers of new cafes is a dead giveaway.
    Recently saw six brilliant reviews of a new place and most were first timers.
    Odds are against that many strangers posting so quickly.

  4. #4
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    16,672
    Blog Entries
    1
    Most fake reviews for cafes are probably the owner or their mates.
    ...which is why our "Good coffee where" has a minimum post count. Most of the cafe owners mates are too lazy to get a high enough post count and will post they rubbish reviews somewhere else.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sydney North Shore
    Posts
    1,325
    I am suspicious when there are only one or two reviews rating cafés or restaurants at 9 or 10 out of 10.

    Also many of the review sites have a 3/10 next to a 9/10 for many of the top 3 hat restaurants; I wonder if the food and service was that bad. The customers may be dissatisfied if they were jilted by their partners after an expensive meal.

    Barry

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    6

    Cash for WHAT??

    Hello Yelta and snobs
    Fake review?? Let me explain how this video came about.
    I wrote a piece for the Weekend Australian's lifestyle section about my search for the perfect coffee at home. My choice of machine ended up being the Lelit. In truth, though I do love it, it has not been flawless. This is mentioned in the article. The paper then decided it would be a good idea for the video team to come to my house (panic!) and film my nascent barista skills for a video to support the story, which was wrongly captioned a "review" by the online editors. It is not a review, and never was conceived as such. It stands, I think, as evidence that, with a little practice and training any schmuck can learn to make great coffee at home. Cash for comment? You must be joking. Haven't received a bean, nor did I expect to.
    best regards,
    cutho (registered coffee snob)

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    6
    Having reached a grand total of five posts I believe I am now blessed with the ability to post links. Here's the original story in The Australian

    Cookies must be enabled. | The Australian

    Cheers,
    cutho

    Quote Originally Posted by Yelta View Post
    This article in todays SMH Fake online reviews mean cash-for-comment is rife

    And then this one in the Australian Video: The backyard goes BANG! wonder if he made the clip simply because he loves his Lelit.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Yelta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Moonta SA.
    Posts
    6,802
    Behmor Brazen - $249 - Free Freight
    Welcome to Coffee Snobs Cutho and thanks for the explanation, things ain't always as they seem.



Similar Threads

  1. Getting into the coffee industry
    By s4225274 in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th June 2011, 09:46 PM
  2. Free online 1922 coffee book available to read online
    By Koffee_Kosmo in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 1st September 2009, 07:40 PM
  3. £34,000 of fake coffee seized in UK
    By Koffee_Kosmo in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 8th November 2008, 07:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •